Also known as the Evans Collection, this database includes full-text reproductions of books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in the United States and American colonies from 1639 to 1800. Based on the American Bibliography by Charles Evans, as well as Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography.
Also known as the Shaw-Shoemaker Collection, this digital edition provides online full-text access to 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published from 1801-1819. The definitive resource for teaching and researching the Early National Period in American History
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
This collection of English news media documents 200 years of cultural, political, social and historical events. The collection includes newspapers, newsbooks, proclamations, and pamphlets, and provides insight into England’s development as a world power.
You can find a large number primary source material or references to them in books. To begin, you should start with a broad search, for example, “black panther”, and review your results for clues that the work may be a first-person account or record of an actual event.
Second, if you have too many results, try narrowing them by adding one of the keywords/subject headings listed below (note: this is not a comprehensive list). When doing a keyword search, add one of these terms to your search. For example:
Examples of Library of Congress subheadings useful for locating primary source material:
|
sources |
manuscripts |
letters |
|
speeches, addresses, etc |
court records |
|
|
oratory |
description and travel |
correspondence, reminiscences, etc. |
|
oral history |
autobiographies |
|
|
church records |
registers |
printed ephemera |
|
essays |
diaries |
art |
|
passenger lists |
street literature |
periodicals |
|
photography |
art and photography |
|
|
imprints |
pamphlets |
early works to 1850 |
|
facsimiles |
transcripts |
early works to 1900 |
|
archives |
pictorial works |
|
