Research Guides: History Research: Images, Reproductions, Repositories

Copyright

A Fair(y) Use Tale
An interesting video about copyright - 10 minutes long
Copyright Slide Ruler
Cool tool for determining if an item needs copyright permissions -- based on dates
Cornell Quick Guide to Citing Images
Creative Commons
Creative Commons "provides free tools that let authors, scientists, artists, and educators easily mark their creative work with the freedoms they want it to carry. You can use CC to change your copyright terms from "All Rights Reserved" to "Some Rights Reserved."

Images from Library Resources

SSU's OneSearch Library Catalog
Add "ill." to your search for best results!

SSU Special & Digital Collections

The University Library has some very excellent special and digital collections. When working on a project, make an appointment with the special collections librarian to search for treasures related to your topic.

Digital Collections Beyond SSU

American Memory (Library of Congress) This link opens in a new window
Library of Congress digital collections

British History Online
The digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, we aim to support academic and personal users around the world in their learning, teaching and research.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
University of California Digital Collections

OAC - Online Archive of California This link opens in a new window
Provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses. Possible PRIMARY SOURCES.

Calisphere
Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 150,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, oral histories, and more.
The Getty Museum
Archives of American Art
Art Project, Google
Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.
Galaxy of Images
Galaxy of Images is comprised of interesting and unusual plates and pages digitized from the Smithsonian collections. On display are more than 11,000 images that represent a small, but growing, part of the collection.
Visual Collections
The Visual Collections site from Cartography Associates contains dozens of digital image collections from Museums, Universities and private collections throughout the world.
The Nelson Mandela Foundation
Topics in Chronicling America
A example of some of the amazing things the Library of Congress is digitizing.