Research Guides: History Research: Background

1775 Map of Boston

Sample Reference Titles (PRINT)

Encyclopedia of European social history from 1350 to 2000
Call Number: HN373 .E63 2001
Covers all aspects of European social history from the Renaissance to the present.
The African American national biography, v.1-8
Call Number: E185.96 .A4466 2008
Chronology of world slavery
Call Number: HT861 .R63 1999
ISBN: 0874368847

Encylopedias, dictionaries, and more

These reference books delivered online.

Just like print reference books, these give you essential background information. Usually, the entries will also provide you with a bibliography to key works, books, articles, reports, and more, that will lead you to more in-depth information.

Virtual Reference Library (Gale)
Contains over 170 subject encyclopedias. Subject include the arts, biographies, business, environment, history, law, and more.
Sage eReference
Sage includes over 70 subject encyclopedias. Subject areas include: African-American Studies, Business & Management, Economics, Family Studies, Politics, and more.
Oxford Reference
Online access over 175 fully-indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
More Encyclopedias
Links to many, many online dictionaries, encyclopedias and other useful tools for getting background information.
Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture
A Directory of Rare Book and Special Collections in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland
use through Google Books or order print copy through Link+

University Library

History Research

1775 Map of Boston

Sample Reference Titles (PRINT)

Encylopedias, dictionaries, and more