Research Guides: History Research: Journal Articles

Key Databases - SSU Only

America History & Life
Covers United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Over 1,700 journal titles are indexed starting in 1964 through the present.

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers world history from 1450 to the present (excluding Canada and North America -- see America:History and Life). A special emphasis is placed upon the inclusion of English-language journal and book titles published throughout the world.

Historical African American Newspapers Available Online
This guide provides a list of historical African American Newspapers available online as part of digitization projects at libraries and historical societies as well as digitization projects done by Google. The content is available for free, though it is at the discretion of the institution providing the content.

Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting for over 1,900 titles with coverage back to 1925, including citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.

JSTOR
A full-text scholarly (peer-review) journal database covering 47 different disciplines. Browse History journals in JSTOR.
more...less...
NOTE: Name is short for "Journal Storage." The most recent 5 years of a majority of journals is not available.

Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Keyword search with a general topic to see what articles have been written that could turn into topics

Journal of Digital Humanities
The Journal of Digital Humanities is a comprehensive, peer-reviewed, open access journal that features the best scholarship, tools, and conversations produced by the digital humanities community in the previous quarter.

Anglo-Saxon England
Recognised internationally as the foremost regular publication in its field. In fact it is the only one which consistently embraces all the main aspects of study of Anglo-Saxon history and culture — linguistic, literary, textual, palaeographic, reli
Boom: A Journal of California
Boom is a peer-reviewed quarterly journal, which aims to create a dialog about the vital social, cultural, and political issues of our time. Thoughtful, provocative, and at times playful, Boom speaks not only to the scholarly community but also to the broader public, in California and beyond.