Research Guides: Art History: Home

About this Guide

This research guide focuses on Art History. It includes print, multimedia, and online resources owned or subscribed to by Sonoma State University Library as well as resources freely available on the Web. This research guide is not a comprehensive portal, but it is intended to be a useful place to start.

If you need/want further research help, please contact us. We are always happy to help!

Recommended Databases

Don't have time to read this full guide? These databases and e-resources will help you complete most Art History research assignments at Sonoma State. For more detailed recommendations and instructions, please review the other pages in this guide or ask for help.

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
An international array of peer-selected art publications, 1929-current , with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
Benezit Dictionary of Artists This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive and definitive resource for artists’ biographies, published since 1911. The Benezit Dictionary of Artists includes 170,000 biographies as well as auction records, exhibition histories, and over 11,000 images of artists’ signatures and stamps of sale.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Formerly Grove Art Online, it includes the entire 34 volumes of The Dictionary of Art, with articles as well as links to images on gallery and museum web pages around the world. Includes biographies of artists and searchable images.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an archive of full-text scholarship, digital collections, and digital images. As of August 2024, all Artstor content has been moved to JSTOR. JSTOR includes content from disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, arts, and sciences.