Popular sources can include books, podcasts, magazine articles and films. Some sources can be found online on the open web. Others can be found in the SSU library. In addition to our collections of books and articles, the SSU library also subscribes to a number of streaming video databases.
Created by the Library of Congress and WGBH in Boston, the AAPB is an archive of over 60 years of audio and video content created by public broadcasting stations around the US. "The collection of 40,000 hours contains thousands of high quality programs that have had national impact. The vast majority of this initial American Archive content, however, consists of regional and local programs that document American communities during the last half of the twentieth century and the first decade of the twenty-first. This extraordinary collection includes local news and public affairs programs, local history productions that document the heritage of local communities, and programs dealing with education, environmental issues, music, art, literature, dance, poetry, religion, and even filmmaking on a local level."
Award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Streaming videos on the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media, consumerism, environmental issues; special focus on representations of gender and race, and the effect these representations have on identity and culture.
You're probably all familiar with the term "fake news" and there is a lot of discussion about misinformation and disinformation in our media streams. So how do you choose a credible/appropriate source for this project? First, there's no such thing as a completely "unbiased" news outlet. News media leans left or right to varying degrees and individual reporters and authors have their own unique perspectives. What is important is to understand the pros and cons of the source you choose.
These sites can help you determine where a source falls:
Possible news sources
For national news these would include sources like:
Think Local too!
Accessing Sources
Although the library does have news databases, the articles are often plain text and don't provide the same experience as browsing a newspaper or reading the online content. Many news sites allow a limited number of articles for "free" before they limit access, though if you can afford to, supporting journalism, especially local journalism is a good thing. When I am looking for news, I prefer to "Google" it . You can use the news tab on Google to limit to news stories on your topic.
In addition to using those free articles, your public library may offer access to some newspapers. As SSU students, you are eligible for a digital access library card at the Sonoma County Library. If you are from out of the area it's worth checking to see what your local public library offers.
Here are some good choices for browsing news databases in the library including some lesser known news sources.
Full text of newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses, including the arts, media and popular culture, business and labor studies, education, environmental studies and ecology, global studies, history, political science, government and public policy.
A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. A rich collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provide a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints -- the other sides of the stories. English and Spanish language search options are available. The database offers a Spanish language search interface as well as Spanish full text materials.