About this Guide
This research guide focuses on philosophy. It includes print, multimedia, and online resources owned or subscribed to by Sonoma State University Library as well as resources freely available on the Web. This research guide is not a comprehensive portal, but it is intended to be a useful place to start.
If you need/want further research help, please contact us. We are always happy to help!
Recommended Databases
Don't have time to read this full guide? These databases and e-resources will help you complete most philosophy research assignments at Sonoma State. For more detailed recommendations and instructions, please review the other pages in this guide or ask for help.
-
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new windowThe Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) is a freely-accessible online encyclopedia of philosophy maintained by Stanford University. Each entry is written and maintained by an expert in the field.
-
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly research in all major fields in philosophy.
-
PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online This link opens in a new window
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums. Does not include full text.
Want to see all the databases at your disposal? Browse our A-Z list of databases to identify a collection that best suits your research.