Getting Started
If you're researching a question or a topic that is new to you, you might want to start by gathering some background information. Reference sources like those linked below are good places to get started with a topic.
-
The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
by
ISBN: 9780199541430Publication Date: 2008-10-02This best-selling dictionary covers all areas of philosophy and contains terms from the related fields of religion, science, and logic. Clear and authoritative definitions and make it an essential resource for students and teachers and an ideal introduction for anyone with an interest in philosophy. -
The Oxford Companion to the Mind
by
ISBN: 9780198662242Publication Date: 2004-12-03First published in 1987, to huge acclaim, The Oxford Companion to the Mind immediately took its place as the indispensable guide to the mysteries — and idiosyncracies — of the human mind. In no other book can the reader find discussions of concepts such as language, memory, and intelligence, side by side with witty definitions of common human experiences such as the ‘cocktail-party’ and ‘halo’ effects, and the least effort principle. -
Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
by
ISBN: 9780415223645Publication Date: 1999-12-28Features over 2000 original articles from over 1300 leading international experts across the discipline of philosophy. The articles cover an unparalleled breadth of subject matter, including Anglo-American, ethicaland political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy. With a summary providing a rapid orientation at the beginning of every in-depth.
-
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowThis reference database isn't limited to philosophy, but provides browsable and searchable access to many reference sources, including reference works about specific aspects of philosophy, like educational philosophy and philosophy of consciousness.
-
Philosophy Encyclopedias in the LibraryThis link will take you to a search of our library resources that includes all of the philosophy encyclopedia's available, both online and in print.
-
Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyThis is a free resource put together and published at Stanford University. It's comprehensive and accessible, and a great place to begin learning about new concepts.