Finding Books or Articles in Sonoma State University Library
OneSearch is the library search tool where you can find almost everything the SSU Library owns or subscribes to on one platform. Use OneSearch to find books or articles on philosophy for your research project.
Most of our physical books are located on the 3rd floor of the library. Materials requested online can be picked up from the 2nd floor Info/Checkout Desk or 24/7 library lockers.
Most scholarly articles are available through OneSearch or library databases. Materials requested from other libraries will be available in about 24 hours.
Books in the Library
Take a look at some of our recently added philosophy books!
Click the following book titles to see their location and call numbers in the Catalog:
-
The Pragmatics of Straw Man Fallacies: An Experimental Approach
by
Call Number: Full text onlineISBN: 9783031940941Publication Date: 2025This open-access book provides the first experimental pragmatic investigation of the straw man, uncovering a variety of factors that increase or decrease the acceptability of this fallacy. The book starts with an overview of the primarily theoretical frameworks on argumentation/fallacies and the straw man. The aim is to provide a synthetic review of the research conducted in argumentation and the study of fallacies with a strong focus on modern approaches and the role of language within these approaches. It is followed by an overview of the empirical methods in argumentation, which leads the reader to the core part of the book, i.e., the experimental pragmatic approach to the straw man fallacy. -
Nietzsche on the Methods and Aims of Philosophy
by
Call Number: Full Text OnlineISBN: 1009370952Publication Date: 2025-07-07This book focusses on Nietzsche's method of genealogy and shows how Nietzsche uses genealogical methods to render us less obscure to ourselves, to liberate us from value systems that no longer serve our interests, and to demonstrate how we might become less prone to guilt and shame. -
Kant's Lectures on Political Philosophy
by
Call Number: Full Text OnlineISBN: 9781009215091Publication Date: 2025-07-02Kant's influential political philosophy is here examined in its early stage a full decade prior to his publications on right. The essays cover the range of topics as presented by Kant in the only surviving transcript of his course lectures on natural law from 1784.
Recommended Databases
These library databases and e-resources are recommended because they will help you find relevant information for most philosophy topics and assignments at SSU. These databases primarily focus on academic research articles published in peer-reviewed journals, but may contain other kinds of sources, as well. If you're not sure whether an article is scholarly, you may want to consult with a librarian for help.
-
PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online This link opens in a new window
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums. Does not include full text.
-
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting for over 1,900 titles with coverage back to 1925, including citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an archive of full-text scholarship, digital collections, and digital images. As of August 2024, all Artstor content has been moved to JSTOR. JSTOR includes content from disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, arts, and sciences.
Want to see all the databases at your disposal? Browse our A-Z list of databases to identify a collection that best suits your research.
Borrowing From Other Libraries
Are you looking for something we don’t have? We can get it for you! You can access all kinds of materials from other libraries through CSU+ and our resource sharing program.
Search all of the CSU libraries and other lending libraries using OneSearch and easily place requests directly by clicking Get it.
Most materials will be received in just a few days. There are no late fees and you can borrow items for up to 60 days.