Finding Books or Articles in Sonoma State University Library
OneSearch is the library search tool where you can find almost everything the SSU Library owns or subscribes to on one platform. Use OneSearch to find books or articles on Chicano and Latino Studies for your research project.
Most of our physical books are located on the 3rd floor of the library. Materials requested online can be picked up from the 2nd floor Info/Checkout Desk or 24/7 library lockers.
Most scholarly articles are available through OneSearch or library databases. Materials requested from other libraries will be available in about 24 hours.
Books in the Library
Take a look at some of our recently added Chicano and Latino Studies books!
Click the following book titles to see their location and call numbers in the Catalog:
-
Writing That Matters
by
Call Number: Full text onlineISBN: 9780816552900Publication Date: 2024-03-26Writing that Matters is a handbook on the craft of research and writing in the fields of Chicanx and Latinx studies. With first- and second-year college students as their target-audience, Heidenreich and Urquijo-Ruiz walk scholars through the critical roots of these fields, even more importantly, they provide step by step instructions and examples of how to produce college papers in the fields of Chicanx and Latinx Studies. -
The Schlager Anthology of Hispanic America
by
Call Number: Full Text OnlineISBN: 9781935306856Publication Date: 2023-03-10This sourcebook covers Hispanic American history from the 1100s to the present day. The set traces the history of Hispanic America through 150 critical primary documents: speeches, letters, court cases, interviews, government reports, and visual images. -
Voces de Aztlán
by
Call Number: E184.M5 V63 2023ISBN: 9781793521330Publication Date: 2022-10-07Voces de Aztlán : A Chicana/o History Reader, Vol. 2' provides students with a selection of primary and secondary sources that explore the rich, influential, and important histories of Chicana/o peoples in the United States. The volume is organized chronologically into eight chapters and covers a broad range of topics and themes, mostly from twentieth century Chicana/o history.
Borrowing From Other Libraries
Are you looking for something we don’t have? We can get it for you! You can access all kinds of materials from other libraries through CSU+ and our resource sharing program.
Search all of the CSU libraries and other lending libraries using OneSearch and easily place requests directly by clicking Get it.
Most materials will be received in just a few days. There are no late fees and you can borrow items for up to 60 days.
Recommended Databases
Don't have time to read this full guide? These databases and e-resources will help you complete most Chicano and Latino Studies research assignments at Sonoma State. For more detailed recommendations and instructions, please review the other pages in this guide or ask for help.
-
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
-
Fuente Academica Plus This link opens in a new window
Covering all major academic disciplines, Fuente Académica Plus provides Spanish- and Portuguese-language journals for scholarly research. It offers many quality journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain.
-
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new windowThis bibliography on Latin American history and culture contains citations for materials dating back to the 1930s. This database does not contain full text and you have to search OneSearch to locate access to materials cited in the bibliography. Now with a new, easier to use interface.
-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers sociology, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social work, theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and more.
Want to see all the databases at your disposal? Browse our A-Z list of databases to identify a collection that best suits your research.