About this Guide
This research guide focuses on Chicano and Latino Studies. It includes print, multimedia, and online resources owned or subscribed to by Sonoma State University Library as well as resources freely available on the Web. This research guide is not a comprehensive portal, but it is intended to be a useful place to start.
If you need/want further research help, please contact us. We are always happy to help!
Recommended Databases
Don't have time to read this full guide? These databases and e-resources will help you complete most Chicano and Latino Studies research assignments at Sonoma State. For more detailed recommendations and instructions, please review the other pages in this guide or ask for help.
-
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
-
Fuente Academica Plus This link opens in a new window
Covering all major academic disciplines, Fuente Académica Plus provides Spanish- and Portuguese-language journals for scholarly research. It offers many quality journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain.
-
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new windowThis bibliography on Latin American history and culture contains citations for materials dating back to the 1930s. This database does not contain full text and you have to search OneSearch to locate access to materials cited in the bibliography. Now with a new, easier to use interface.
-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers sociology, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social work, theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and more.
Want to see all the databases at your disposal? Browse our A-Z list of databases to identify a collection that best suits your research.