Activist-academic Meg John Barker and cartoonist Julia Scheele illuminate the histories of queer thought and LGBTQ+ action in this groundbreaking non-fiction graphic novel. A kaleidoscope of characters from the diverse worlds of pop-culture, film, activism and academia guide us on a journey through the ideas, people and events that have shaped ‘queer theory’.
A comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film, including film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
Full text of newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses, including the arts, media and popular culture, business and labor studies, education, environmental studies and ecology, global studies, history, political science, government and public policy.
It's here and it's queer - popular culture inhabits all our lives, whether it comes in the form of movies or magazines, TV or shopping. A Queer Romance brings together critics, writers and artists to debate the possibilities of popular culture for lesbians and gay men.
This innovative collection brings together work from several disciplines to address the politics of queer representation in global contexts. Articles cover many aspects of contemporary culture, including the queer cowboy, the emergence of lesbian chic, and the expansion of queer representations of blackness.
An overview of the recent history of gay and lesbian cinema, from Kenneth Anger's pioneering Fireworks (1947) to Ang Lee's Brokeback mountain (2005). Where documentaries about earlier times looked at the closeted world, "Fabulous!" celebrates films featuring gay characters and those made by out directors on homosexual themes.
Assembles footage from over 120 films showing the changing face of cinema homosexuality from cruel stereotypes to covert love to the activist cinema of the 1990s. Many actors, writers and commentators provide anecdotes regarding the history of the role of gay men and lesbians on the silver screen.
An international array of peer-selected art publications, 1929-current , with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
Shakesqueer puts the most exciting queer theorists in conversation with the complete works of William Shakespeare. Exploring what is odd, eccentric, and unexpected in the Bard’s plays and poems, these theorists highlight not only the many ways that Shakespeare can be queered but also the many ways that Shakespeare can enrich queer theory.
Blasting through the crew-cuts and conformism of their day, the Beat writers were queer in the fullest sense of the word: their fluid sexuality challenged all sexual and romantic conventions. This text traces, for the first time, the queer pulse that throbs throughout the Beats' writings.
This collection of essays focuses on queer, lesbian and gay documentary, arguing that documentary films and videos articulate an essential political and social urgency, acting as testaments to the importance of reclaiming history and reasserting the importance of these points of view.
Divulging the rich tradition of homosexuality in the arts from an unabashed perspective, this book examines the process of creation and allows one to comprehend the contribution of homosexuality to the evolution of emotional perception. In a time when all barriers have been overcome, this analysis offers a new understanding of our civilisation's masterpieces.
Through the self-publication of zines, LGBTQ+ identified individuals and communities have found an alternative mode of knowledge production and information sharing. These publications provide uncensored first hand narratives, and as such, constitute unique and invaluable research tools. Take a look at this phenomenal collection of digitized LGBTQ+, feminist, and social justice related zines. Dowloading options available.
Provides an overview of the history of LGBT community newspapers and magazines in America. It provides a specific focus on weekly and biweekly newspapers, but also assesses the LGBT state of print media overall.