This is a great place to start and helps explain some of the more challenging aspects of the research process.
These are just a few MLL 273 related resources; don't forget to take a look at the Research & Resources page of this guide, as well as the SSU Library webpage for additional resources.
Try these article databases to search for secondary sources (scholarly articles) related to your topics:
Contains records for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
Comprehensive, multidisciplinary, scholarly full-text research journals. This is a good starting point for most topics, but doesn't offer the depth that subject-specific database offer.
Indexing and abstracting for over 1,900 titles with coverage back to 1925, including citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
Visit this website to search for primary sources related to Caribbean history, including documents from the Trujillo Dictatorship:
Browse these reference sources for topic ideas:
Formerly Grove Music Online, it offers full text of the 29-volume print edition with the added benefit of sophisticated search capabilities, one-click cross-referencing, and an ever increasing network of web-links to musical sites around the world.
View these videos for inspiration:
Visit these related guides for additional resources:
Below are just a few related resources; don't forget to take a look at the Research & Resources page of this guide, as well as the SSU Library webpage.
These reference sources are particularly helpful for narrowing and exploring topics:
As noted by Professor Renaudin, "Research involves seeking primary material (photographs, videos of the performance ...) as well as secondary material (articles about the performance written then, or now, and anywhere in between)." This list contains a mix of primary and secondary sources.
Streaming video dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
A comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film, including film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Indexes journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. Includes key full text journals such as Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, PAJ, Research in Drama Education, TDR, Theater, and many more.
Contains records for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
Use the following Research Guides for help developing strategies and finding other resources of possible interest:
Try these article databases to search for articles related to your topics:
This database includes archival and primary source documents related to the Civil Rights Movement. The focus of these records is on the political side of the freedom movement, the role of civil rights organizations in pushing for civil rights legislation, and the interaction between African Americans and federal government.
Browse topics within this encyclopedia:
Visit these websites for primary sources:
Visit these related Research Guides for additional resources:
These are just a few Art History 273 related resources; don't forget to take a look at the Research & Resources page of this guide, as well as the SSU Library webpage for additional resources.
Try these article and image databases to search for articles and resources related to your topics:
Comprehensive, multidisciplinary, scholarly full-text research journals. This is a good starting point for most topics, but doesn't offer the depth that subject-specific database offer.
An international array of peer-selected art publications, 1929-current , with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
Contains records for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
Browse these reference sources for topic ideas:
Visit this related research guide for additional sources:
Learn more about Annotated Bibliographies:
