Research Guides: Digital Collections: Art

Highlights from SSU Digital Collections

Take a look at the digital versions of historical materials that are stored on the third floor of your library.

SSU ScholarWorks

SSU ScholarWorks is a digital archive designed to capture, preserve, and make publicly available the research, creative works, and administrative output of Sonoma State University. It provides permanent storage and access to an expanding range of SSU's intellectual assets.

Suggested Art Collections

Archives of American Art
Amazing online archive from the Smithsonian.
Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser
Provided by the Perseus Digital Library Project at Tufts University.
Arts & Culture
Selected collection content available online from the Library of Congress.
Calisphere
Unique, digitized cultural artifacts from the University of California.
Cultural Institute: Art Project
Google partnership with hundreds of museums, cultural institutions, and archives to host the world’s cultural treasures online.
Digital Collections
Digitized materials from the 15th century to the present from the Getty Research Institute. Include books, photographs, manuscripts, archives, and works on paper.
Europeana
Explore millions of items from a range of Europe's leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums. Co-founded by the European Union.
Galaxy of Images
Comprised of interesting, unusual plates and pages digitized from more than 11,000 images that represent a small, but growing, part of the Smithsonian collection.
Georgia O'Keeffe Museum
Over 3,000 images of items from the museum, as well as archival materials.
NYPL Digital Collections
Digitized materials from the New York Public Library collection.

OAC (Online Archive of California)
Free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions -- from the California Digital Library.

Metropolitan Museum of Art
More than 400,000 high-resolution digital images of public domain works in the Museum’s world-renowned collection may be downloaded directly from the Museum’s website for non-commercial use—including in scholarly publications in any media—without permission from the Museum and without a fee.

University Library

Digital Collections

Highlights from SSU Digital Collections

SSU ScholarWorks

Suggested Art Collections