Research Guides: High School Research Guide: Sonoma County Public Library

Using the Sonoma County Library

Using the library:

Books & Media

The Sonoma County Public Library has a wide variety of books and media available in both physical and digital form. Using your Sonoma County Library card you can search the catalog, place holds, check your account, download eBooks and audio books and more!

Accessing Databases

The Sonoma County Library has access to a number of paid databases as well as links to other online database sources. To access these databases from home, use your library card # & pin code.

How can I get a library card? Library cards are free. For details on how to get a library card look here.
Library Cards and Accounts Information about the rights and responsibilities of card holders.
Library Card Registration Form (English) Complete your registration form before hand.
Library Card Registration Form (Spanish)

Databases at the Sonoma County Library

There are links to many great databases at the Sonoma County Library. With your library card (It's Free!) you can search from home any hour of the day or night. Below are just a few of the databases that you may find helpful when doing research or working on assignments.

Biography in Context
A comprehensive database of biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Learning Express
LearningExpress Library features nearly 1,000 online tutorials, practice tests, and eBooks to help patrons of all ages. LearningExpress helps students and adult learners improve the skills required for academic and career success. It offers job search and workplace skills improvement, skill building in reading, writing, math, and basic science, career certification and licensure exam prep, college and grad school entrance test prep, GED® test prep, and more.
Mango Languages (New!)
Learn 60 foreign languages and 17 English courses taught in the user’s native tongue.
MasterFile Complete
Read and download full text articles from more than 2,000 magazines, journals, and newspapers
Points of View
Students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills.
A to Z World Culture
A to Z World Culture covers society and culture for 175 countries. Included is a large collection of images, as well as greetings and courtesies, gift giving, holidays, media, religion, women in culture and business, national cuisine, recipes, stereotypes, maps, flags, and more.

University Library

High School Research Guide

For Teens

eBooks

Using the Sonoma County Library

Databases at the Sonoma County Library