Skip to Main Content

University Library

Geography and Global Studies

Search Journals by Title

If you have the title of a particular journal, enter the journal title in the Library Catalog to see if it's in our collections. 

OneSearch

Search OneSearch for books, media, articles, primary sources, newspapers, journals, and more. Selecting CSU+ will allow you to search across all CSU libraries and request items we don't have.

If it is available online, you'll find a link to the appropriate online resource.

If it is available in print, you'll see the list of issues, which you can retrieve in the SSU Library. 

Back issues of print journals may be in the Automated Retrieval System. If you come across the Click to Request button, click on it, type your last name, and submit. The item will be available for pick-up at the Information/Check-Out Desk on the second floor, usually within about 15 minutes. 

Search Journals by Topic

The Library subscribes to around 35,000 journals, mostly online. (SSU students, faculty and staff only)

If you know your topic, but are not sure which journal has an article on that topic, you'll want to use the Library's research databases and full-text journal collections.

Special Collections

Sonoma State University's special collection, "Regional Collection," contains books and maps focuses on the North Bay counties of Lake, Marin, Mendocino, Napa, Solano, and Sonoma, the collection’s primary acquisitions area, and includes regional histories and memoirs, planning documents, environmental impact reports, and various government reports from the mid 19th century to the present. 


Sonoma State University's special collection, "Sonoma County Highways," contains information on right-of-way appraisal files that were developed by the California Highway Commission (which became the California Transportation Commission, or CalTrans, in 1978) to document the right-of-way access needed to build Highway 101 through Sonoma County between the 1940s and 1970s. Also included are some files for Highways 12, 116, and 1.

The collection contents represent an important milestone in the history of Sonoma County, the creation of Highway 101, which transects the county south to north. Materials include appraisals, photographs of properties, comparable property reports, economic and development appraisals, correspondence, reports, and detailed maps. The photographs provide valuable historic detail of architectural styles, automobiles, gardens, and scenes of parts of Sonoma County prior to development. The appraisal notes and reports are rich with detail and commentary on economic conditions, development plans, the impact of historic events, and the diverse inhabitants of these properties.

How do I get articles from Google Scholar?

Google Scholar screenshot showing the location of the Settings link

Do you use Google Scholar? Make it more effective by linking it to the Library and gaining access to our subscriptions. 

Go to Google Scholar. Click on Settings, then Library Links in the left-hand column. Type in "Sonoma State University," check the box next to Sonoma State University, and save. Your search results will now include a Find It@SSU link. Click on Find It for full-text articles available from the SSU Library.