Produced by the University of Cincinnati Library
Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
Also known as the Evans Collection, this database includes full-text reproductions of books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in the United States and American colonies from 1639 to 1800. Based on the American Bibliography by Charles Evans, as well as Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography.
Also known as the Shaw-Shoemaker Collection, this digital edition provides online full-text access to 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published from 1801-1819. The definitive resource for teaching and researching the Early National Period in American History
Starting in 1972, these documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions. The library has documents to 2010.
You can find a large number primary source material or references to them in books. To begin, you should start with a broad search, for example, “Native American” and review your results for clues that the work may be a first-person account or record of an actual event.
Second, if you have too many results, try narrowing them by adding one of the keywords/subject headings listed below (note: this is not a comprehensive list). When doing a keyword search, add one of these terms to your search. For example:
Native American* AND sources
Examples of Library of Congress subheadings useful for locating primary source material:
|
sources |
manuscripts |
letters |
|
holocaust AND personal narratives |
speeches, addresses, etc |
court records |
|
oratory |
description and travel |
correspondence, reminiscences, etc. |
|
civil rights AND interviews |
oral history |
autobiographies |
|
church records |
registers |
printed ephemera |
|
essays |
diaries |
art |
|
passenger lists |
street literature |
periodicals |
|
photography |
art and photography |
philosophy AND early works to 1800 |
|
imprints |
pamphlets |
early works to 1850 |
|
facsimiles |
transcripts |
early works to 1900 |
|
archives |
pictorial works |
|
Use this form to search OneSearch. You can choose whether to search keywords, or look for a specific title, author, or subject term. You can also narrow down to the type of item you're looking for.