The library provides access to local, national, and international news through a variety of subscriptions and options. To determine your access options for a particular newspaper, search the title in the library's catalog, OneSearch.
For access to local newspapers, such as the Press Democrat, San Francisco Chronicle, or Sacramento Bee, visit the library's subscription to California Newspaper Collection.
For access to national and international newspapers, such as the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and the Los Angeles Times, visit the library's subscription to Global Newsstream.
The library also pays for Sonoma State University students, faculty, and staff to create a free pass to the New York Times! To learn how to create your free pass, visit the library's FAQ, 'How do I access the New York Times?'
If you have any further questions, please ask a librarian.
The University Library is pleased to offer free access to the New York Times for SSU students, faculty, and staff.
To activate your free pass, visit accessnyt.com. Search for Sonoma State University, then register with your sonoma.edu email address. You MUST use your sonoma.edu email address to register.
If you already have an account using your sonoma.edu email address, you can login with that account and link your academic pass to your existing account.
If you already have a paid subscription with your sonoma.edu email address, you'll need to cancel your existing subscription before registering for an academic pass.
Students will have access through December of their graduating year. Faculty will need to re-register every four years. The subscription does not include access to NYT Cooking, NYT Games, or Wirecutter.
New York Times content is also included in ProQuest Global Newsstream.
Full text of newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses, including the arts, media and popular culture, business and labor studies, education, environmental studies and ecology, global studies, history, political science, government and public policy.
A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. A rich collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provide a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints -- the other sides of the stories. English and Spanish language search options are available. The database offers a Spanish language search interface as well as Spanish full text materials.
Includes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklet, and more that address the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles.