Jewish Studies is a rich interdisciplinary major, which means your research may bridge multiple areas of study and take shape in a number of different ways. This guide will point you to some starting places for finding resources and shaping your research project. If you're not sure how to get started or are feeling stuck, please make an appointment with a librarian (check out the links in the left hand sidebar to schedule an appointment or send an email).
One place to get started on any research project is through Sage Research Methods, a database that includes lots of information about the research process, understanding research methods, doing a lit review, citing sources, and more.
You may need to get some background information to familiarize yourself with a new topic. Reference sources and books can be great tools for getting your bearings in a new subject. Here are a few you may want to check out.
Provides selected full text access to the Cambridge Histories reference series, including political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects. Sample topics include: Social History of Britain, World History of Food, History of Political Thought, History of Latin America, History of Islam, History of Iran, Economic History of the United States. Some titles may not be available.
Offers fully-indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including Oxford Companions Series. Covers a wide range of fields and includes illustrations, maps, timelines, biographies, and links to authoritative websites.
