Research Guides: GEP 331: Restoration and Society: Statistics

Environmental Statistics Resources

Energy Information Administration
Envirofacts Data Warehouse (EPA)
Fisheries of the United States
more...less...
Fish catch by state or detailed species, plus food processing, foreign trade, imports and exports.
Forest Inventory and Analysis
more...less...
Identify forest ownership, location, and optionally type of trees, geographic features, etc.
Right to Know Network City Search
Search by city to find toxic releases, spills and accidents, hazardous waste, etc.
Toxics Release Inventory National Analysis

Statistics

IBISWorld
Great source for industry statistics
American FactFinder
Gateway to U.S. Census data.
U.S. Statistical Abstract
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics from the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
more...less...
The U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of data for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011. The Statistical Compendia program is comprised of the Statistical Abstract of the United States and its supplemental products—the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book and the County and City Data Book. To access the most current data, please refer to the organizations cited in the source notes for each table of the Statistical Abstract.
FedStats
FedStats provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Inflation & prices, employment, unemployment, pay & benefits, and other labor-related economic data.
United Nations Statistics
World Bank

Starting point for statistics

Use Statistato find statistics on over 60,000 subjects. Download them into Excel or PowerPoint!

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources, including consumer data, market research, social and cultural statistics, media and advertising data, and more. ***STATISTA DOES NOT WORK WELL IN FIREFOX; PLEASE USE AN ALTERNATE BROWSER***

Datasets

Earthworks Digital GIS Data
A great collection of links to data clearinghouses of federal, state and Bay Area datasets, Earthworks includes data available from numerous research institutions across the United States covering a vast array of subjects and base layer information, both public and restricted data. The restricted data are tied to the institution that holds the content, so be aware that not all data is available to you.
Data Sources for GIS
Links to datasets as well as includes tips for finding and evaluating good, current data.
U.S. Census datasets
ICPSR data archive
From the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research at Univ. of Michigan.
Pew Research Center's Social and Demographic Trends
Datasets from the Pew Research Center.
General Social Survey (GSS), 1972-2006
The GSS monitors social change in the United States, since 1972. Formerly free, datasets now available for purchase on CD-ROM
The CIRP Freshman Survey
Covers a wide range of student characteristics: parental income & education, ethnicity, other demographic items; financial aid; secondary school achievement & activities; educational & career plans; and values, attitudes, beliefs, and self-concept.
World Bank Research datasets
Datasets on poverty, trade, development, sustainability, migration, finance and more.
World Resources Institute datasets
Specifically global warming and climate change.
International Food Policy Research Institute datasets
Food policy issues at local (household and community), national, and global levels.
Pew Hispanic Center datasets
Education, religion, civic participation, immigration and more.
World Values Survey
A worldwide network of social scientists studying changing values & their impact on social and political life. The WVS has carried out representative national surveys in 97 societies containing almost 90 percent of the world's population since 1981.
Data.gov
Data.gov offers data thousands of datasets, including geospatial data.
California data
Access raw State data files, databases, geographic data, and other data sources. Raw State data files can be reused by citizens and organizations for their own web applications and mashups.

University Library

GEP 331: Restoration and Society

Environmental Statistics Resources

Statistics

Starting point for statistics

Datasets