Expert searchers use boolean logic to craft very specific searches to help them pinpoint exactly what they're looking for.
Full-text versions of the 50+ journal titles published by the American Chemical Society.
Provides full-text access to journals in the science and social sciences. Included are journals from a host of scientific societies and scientific, technical and medical (STM) publishers.
Access a range of scholarly journals and ebooks on a wide range of topics from publisher Springer.
Provides full text of articles from 100+ journals dating back to 1997, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 380 publications. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics, and much more (via Ebsco).
Comprehensive, multidisciplinary, scholarly full-text research journals. This is a good starting point for most topics, but doesn't offer the depth that subject-specific database offer.
JSTOR is an archive of full-text scholarship, digital collections, and digital images. As of August 2024, all Artstor content has been moved to JSTOR. JSTOR includes content from disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, arts, and sciences.
Important journal and information resource for the basic biological and physical sciences.
Do you use Google Scholar? Make it more effective by linking it to the Library and gaining access to our subscriptions.
Go to Google Scholar. Click on Settings, then Library Links in the left-hand column. Type in "Sonoma State University," check the box next to Sonoma State University, and save. Your search results will now include a Find It@SSU link. Click on Find It for full-text articles available from the SSU Library.
Bibliometrics: According to the Oxford English Dictionary, bibliometrics deals "with the application of mathematical and statistical analysis to bibliography; the statistical analysis of books, articles, or other publications."
Altmetrics (alternative metrics) are nontraditional metrics proposed as an alternative to the more traditional citation impact metrics, such as impact factor and h-index.
Impact factors can be applied to journals or to individual articles. According to Journal Citation Reports, "The journal Impact Factor is the average number of times articles from the journal published in the past two years have been cited in the JCR year," although other time spans can be calculated.
Citation analysis examines the frequency, patterns, and graphs of citations in articles and books, using citations in scholarly works to establish links to other works or other researchers. Identifying the number of times an article is cited by others is considered the "impact factor" for that article.
Open access is the “free, immediate, online availability of research articles coupled with the rights to use these articles fully in the digital environment” (SPARC). Open access can be attained via two primary paths: publishing in an open access journal (Gold) or retaining author’s copyright and posting a copy of the article to an institutional repository or subject repository (Green).
Benefits of open access include:
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages
