Finding Books or Articles in Sonoma State University Library
OneSearch is the library search tool where you can find almost everything the SSU Library owns or subscribes to on one platform. Use OneSearch to find books or articles on environmental studies, geography, and planning for your research project.
Most of our physical books are located on the 3rd floor of the library. Materials requested online can be picked up from the 2nd floor Info/Checkout Desk or 24/7 library lockers.
Most scholarly articles are available through OneSearch or library databases. Materials requested from other libraries will be available in about 24 hours.
Books in the Library
Take a look at some of our recently added environmental studies, geography, and planning books!
Click the following book titles to see their location and call numbers in the Catalog:
-
The Cambridge Handbook on Climate Litigation
by
Call Number: Full text onlineISBN: 1009409158Publication Date: 2025-06-03This handbook offers judges, lawyers, and stakeholders an in-depth analysis of critical themes in climate litigation worldwide. By exploring challenges and emerging best practices across jurisdictions, it provides essential guidance for navigating complex legal issues in this evolving field, supporting informed responses in diverse legal contexts -
Designing Renewable Energy Systems within Planetary Boundaries : A Textbook for Energy Engineers
by
Call Number: Full text onlineISBN: 3031698568Publication Date: 2025This open-access text book explores interdisciplinary sustainability for energy engineering students. Future generations of engineers need to be game changers. The book is designed to help future engineers redesign the world, avoid harmful lockdowns, and prevent the creation of new problems while transforming energy systems in economically profitable and ecologically sustainable ways. -
Emerging Pollutants : Protecting Water Quality for the Health of People and the Environment
by
Call Number: Full text onlineISBN: 3031717589Publication Date: 2025This open access book focuses on the importance of reducing pollution and protecting water resources for the health of people and the environment. Water is vital for life on Earth. The quality of the world's freshwater resources is deteriorating due to the rise in pollution levels, which puts the health of people and the environment at risk. Emerging pollutants, a new class called Contaminants of Emerging Concern, pose a global water quality challenge. The identification and implementation of appropriate regulatory, monitoring, prevention, and control measures are hindered by limited scientific understanding and knowledge about sources and pathways of emerging pollutants, their behaviour and fate in the environment, and potential human and ecosystem health risks.
Recommended Databases
These library databases and e-resources are recommended because they will help you find relevant information for most environmental studies, geography, and planning topics and assignments at SSU. These databases primarily focus on academic research articles published in peer-reviewed journals, but may contain other kinds of sources, as well. If you're not sure whether an article is scholarly, you may want to consult with a librarian for help.
-
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
A full-text database covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, and more.
-
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment with scholarly, government and general-interest titles including content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects (via Ebsco).
-
GIS Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThis bibliography covers the literature of geographic information systems, science, and technology. It indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, and reports from the origins of GIS to the present.
Want to see all the databases at your disposal? Browse our A-Z list of databases to identify a collection that best suits your research.
Borrowing From Other Libraries
Are you looking for something we don’t have? We can get it for you! You can access all kinds of materials from other libraries through CSU+ and our resource sharing program.
Search all of the CSU libraries and other lending libraries using OneSearch and easily place requests directly by clicking Get it.
Most materials will be received in just a few days. There are no late fees and you can borrow items for up to 60 days.