What are reference sources?
Reference sources provide a broad or general introduction to a topic, and often provide links or "pointers" (e.g., bibliographies, references, authors) to other information sources. They are a great place to begin exploring your research topic, and may help you convert a very broad topic into a more focused, more specific research question. Specific reference sources include dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Reference Databases
-
Access Science This link opens in a new window
Full text of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, with thousands of illustrations, animations, images and the latest headlines, biographies, and more.
-
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new windowOver 100 online multi-volume reference works, primarily in the social sciences and education. Great starting point for authoritative overviews on thousands of topics.
-
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Offers fully-indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including Oxford Companions Series. Covers a wide range of fields and includes illustrations, maps, timelines, biographies, and links to authoritative websites.
Subject-Specific Reference Works
-
A dictionary of environment and conservation
by
Call Number: Full text onlineISBN: 0191826324Publication Date: 2017With over 8500 entries, this informative dictionary addresses the social, legal, political and economic aspects of the environment and conservation as well as the scientific terms. -
Dictionary and introduction to global environmental governance
by
Call Number: Full text onlineISBN: 9786612101106Publication Date: 2009This unique dictionary and introduction to Global Environmental Governance (GEG), written and compiled by two veterans of the international stage, provides a compilation of over 5500 terms, organizations and acronyms, drawn from hundreds of official sources. An introductory essay frames the major issues in GEG and outlines the pitfalls of talking past one another when discussing the most critical of issues facing the planet.
