Library News - Research Guides at Sonoma State University Library

Focus On: SSU Research

02/28/2025

Laura Krier

Casesa, R. H., Canady, F., & Scott, L. (2025). Languages and literacies learning lab: Bringing home to school. TESOL Journal., 16(1).

The Languages & Literacies Learning Lab (4L), a collaborative project between Sonoma State University and Mariposa Elementary School, supports the development of and engagement around community biliteracy (Casesa et al., 2004). Understanding the benefits of family engagement on student success, we created a space for elementary students and their families to connect literacy with life experiences through a summer program.

Buckmire, R., Hibdon, J. E., Lewis, D., Ortega, O., Pabón, J. L., Roca, R., & Vindas-Meléndez, A. R. (2025). The Mathematics of Mathematics: Using Mathematics and Data Science to Analyze the Mathematical Sciences Community and Enhance Social Justice. La Matematica.

We present and discuss a curated selection of recent literature related to the application of quantitative techniques, tools, and topics from mathematics and data science that have been used to analyze the mathematical sciences community. We engage in this project with a focus on including research that highlights, documents, or quantifies inequality that exists in the mathematical sciences, specifically, and STEM (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) more broadly. We seek to enhance social justice in the mathematics and data science communities by providing numerous examples of the ways in which the mathematical sciences fails to meet standards of equity, equal opportunity, and inclusion. We introduce the term “mathematics of Mathematics” for this project, explicitly building upon the growing, interdisciplinary field known as “Science of Science” to interrogate, investigate, and identify the nature of the mathematical sciences itself. We aim to promote, provide, and posit sources of productive collaborations and we invite interested researchers to contribute to this developing body of work.

No Subjects

New Resource: Political Extremism and Radicalism

02/24/2025

Laura Krier

0 Comments

The library is pleased to provide access to a new digital archives collection: Political Extremism and Radicalism. This collection provides insight on unorthodox groups and movements from both the right and left of the political spectrum through rare, hard to access primary sources supporting the study of activism, cultural studies, political science, policy studies, gender, sexuality, race, religion, civil rights, and other related areas of research.

The archive consists of three parts:

Far-Right and Left Political Groups in the US, Europe, and Australia in the Twentieth Century
Far-Right Groups in America
Global Communist and Socialist Movements

It includes material source from archives including UK HOme Office and Security Service, the American Radicalism Collection at Michigan State University, UC Davis, University of London, Yale, Harvard, the British Library, the Federal Bureau of Investigation, and more.

It includes the FBI files of political figures like Charles Lindbergh, Joseph McCarthy, and J. Robert Oppenheimer, the papers of people including Walter Lippmann and Rose Pastor Stokes, and multiple collections of pamphlets, leaflets, and ephemera.

This collection allows for a deep dive in understanding all kinds of radical political movements in the US, Europe, and Australia throughout history. If you'd like to work with a librarian to explore this collection, contact us via email or feel free to dive into the collection and explore.

History, Political Science, Women's & Gender Studies, American Multicultural Studies, Chicano & Latino Studies

The 1619 Project: A Bibliography

02/19/2025

Laura Krier

0 Comments

This Spring, SSU's Common Read is The 1619 Project: A New Origin Story by Nikole Hannah-Jones. This richly researched book makes clear the ways in which slavery and its legacy have impacted nearly every aspect of life in America and shaped the nation in innumerable ways.

The 1619 Project was built on a foundation of research. Contributors used a wide range of sources to make their arguments, from archival documents to contemporary news sources to the work of other researchers in the fields of history, genetics, sociology, psychology, criminology, and many other disciplines. Following the trail of their research can give you as a reader a richer, deeper understanding of some of the key issues raised in the included essays.

To that end, we have been working on creating "The 1619 Project Bibliography." This bibliography locates and links to the sources cited in the Notes for each chapter of the book. The guide is a work in progress and additional chapters are being added continuously. We hope to illustrate the way that thought and scholarship continually builds on the work of others and on the historical record, offering new interpretations, new insights, and better understanding.

It is vitally important to learn about history through engagement with ideas, historical documents, data, and scholarship. We hope this guide and bibliography will help you to enrich your engagement.

No Subjects

New Resource: Sage Research Methods Video: Practical Research and Academic Skills

02/17/2025

Laura Krier

0 Comments

Are you looking for some support for practical skills that you need to complete your assignments and research projects? Sage Research Methods Video: Practical Research and Academic Skills might be just what you need! This collection includes videos that cover key areas such as planning and designing a research project and presenting your research.

It also includes videos on skills that will help you in your general academic work and in your career.

Whether you're just getting started on your first research project, are preparing to present your research, or want to develop skills that will help you get a job, you're sure to find something useful.

No Subjects