Finding Books or Articles in Sonoma State University Library
OneSearch is the library search tool where you can find almost everything the SSU Library owns or subscribes to on one platform. Use OneSearch to find books or articles on biology for your research project.
Most of our physical books are located on the 3rd floor of the library. Materials requested online can be picked up from the 2nd floor Info/Checkout Desk or 24/7 library lockers.
Most scholarly articles are available through OneSearch or library databases. Materials requested from other libraries will be available in about 24 hours.
Recommended Databases
Don't have time to read this full guide? These databases and e-resources will help you complete most biology research assignments at Sonoma State. For more detailed recommendations and instructions, please review the other pages in this guide or ask for help.
-
Biological and Agricultural Index Plus Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of articles from 100+ journals dating back to 1997, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 380 publications. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics, and much more (via Ebsco).
-
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text of high-impact bioscience research journals, most of which are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers.
-
Nature This link opens in a new window
Important journal and information resource for the basic biological and physical sciences.
-
Science Magazine This link opens in a new window
A leading journal of original scientific research, global news, and commentary. Includes ScienceNow, the consumer-focused publication; ScienceCareers and other supporting material.
Want to see all the databases at your disposal? Browse our A-Z list of databases to identify a collection that best suits your research.
Books in the Library
Take a look at some of our recently added biology books!
Click the following book titles to see their location and call numbers in the Catalog:
-
Human Hacked
by
Call Number: Full text onlineISBN: 9781394269181Publication Date: 2024-10-08Discover the future of cybersecurity through the eyes of the world's first augmented ethical hacker In Human Hacked: My Life and Lessons as the World's First Augmented Ethical Hacker by Len Noe, a pioneering cyborg with ten microchips implanted in his body, you'll find a startlingly insightful take on the fusion of biology and technology. The author provides a groundbreaking discussion of bio-implants, cybersecurity threats, and defenses. -
Introduction to CRISPR-Cas9 Techniques : Strategies for the Laboratory and the Classroom
by
Call Number: Full text onlineISBN: 9783031737343Publication Date: 2025This open-access textbook provides an in-depth introduction into the CRISPR-cas9 technology and explores its use across the gamut of biological model systems. As the subject has risen from a significant new discovery to a mainstream molecular biology practice, it is essential that students of molecular biology understand the fundamentals behind CRISPR-Cas9 technology and how it may be employed efficiently and ethically in research. -
Science of Fungi in Grapevine
by
Call Number: Full text onlineISBN: 9783031686634Publication Date: 2025This open access book provides a comprehensive exploration of the relationship between fungi and grapevines, covering contemporary mycological classifications, pathogens, the mycobiome, endophytes, and mycorrhizae. Inspired by the French book "La Vigne, Maladies Fongiques" by the same authors, which won first prize at the 2015 OIV book competition (Organisation Internationale de la Vigne et du Vin, Dijon), this work aims to extend and update that foundational text.
Borrowing From Other Libraries
Are you looking for something we don’t have? We can get it for you! You can access all kinds of materials from other libraries through CSU+ and our resource sharing program.
Search all of the CSU libraries and other lending libraries using OneSearch and easily place requests directly by clicking Get it.
Most materials will be received in just a few days. There are no late fees and you can borrow items for up to 60 days.