Research Guides: Women's and Gender Studies: Articles & Databases

Search Journals by Topic

The Library subscribes to around 35,000 journals, mostly online. (SSU students, faculty and staff only)

If you know your topic, but are not sure which journal has an article on that topic, you'll want to use the Library's research databases and full-text journal collections.

Communications Studies
Media-related databases.
Education databases
If your topic has anything to do with schools, youth, college students, etc., then browse the educational research.
Newspapers
Search the newspapers for background information or articles about local issues, schools and news. ProQuest Newsstand includes the current Press Democrat and the San Francisco Chronicle through 2013.
Nursing, Medicine & Health Sciences
For issues around women's and men's health.
Psychology Databases
For social psychology it is also good to search the psychological literature, just be sure to look at the research from a sociological perspective.
Sociology databases
Women's and Gender Studies databases
Start with the databases in the Core, then look at the databases in More to see if there are any appropriate to your topic.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, multidisciplinary, scholarly full-text research journals. This is a good starting point for most topics, but doesn't offer the depth that subject-specific database offer.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklet, and more that address the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles.

How do I get articles from Google Scholar?

Do you use Google Scholar? Make it more effective by linking it to the Library and gaining access to our subscriptions.

Go to Google Scholar. Click on Settings, then Library Links in the left-hand column. Type in "Sonoma State University," check the box next to Sonoma State University, and save. Your search results will now include a Find It@SSU link. Click on Find It for full-text articles available from the SSU Library.

Examples of Journals

Here are just a few of the journals available through this library that are especially good sources for research articles in women's and gender studies:

University Library

Women's and Gender Studies

Search Journals by Topic

How do I get articles from Google Scholar?

Examples of Journals