Finding Books or Articles in Sonoma State University Library
OneSearch is the library search tool where you can find almost everything the SSU Library owns or subscribes to on one platform. Use OneSearch to find books or articles on Spanish for your research project.
Most of our physical books are located on the 3rd floor of the library. Materials requested online can be picked up from the 2nd floor Info/Checkout Desk or 24/7 library lockers.
Most scholarly articles are available through OneSearch or library databases. Materials requested from other libraries will be available in about 24 hours.
Books in the Library
Take a look at some of our recently added Spanish books!
Click the following book titles to see their location and call numbers in the Catalog:
-
Repensar la Revolución Del Poncho
by
Call Number: Full text onlineISBN: 9783839458839Publication Date: 2021-10-01Este libro ofrece el primer estudio histórico integral sobre la teología de la liberación en Ecuador. Al indagar más allá del llamado »Obispo de los Indios« (L. Proaño), la obra desmitifica las narrativas dominantes sobre el activismo católico postconciliar en los Andes. Este estudio, a partir de la investigación de archivo y la historia oral, explora los entrelazamientos entre el catolicismo progresista latinoamericano, el activismo religioso local, y la formación del movimiento indígena. -
La reconstrucción de la política internacional española El reinado de Felipe V
by
Call Number: Full text onlineISBN: 8490963487Publication Date: 2021Este libro pretende aportar una visión de conjunto de la política exterior española durante el reinado de Felipe V, entre 1713 y 1746, periodo en el que se consolidaron la dinastía borbónica en España y el sistema de equilibrio europeo forjado en la paz de Utrecht. Aborda este asunto crucial, que no había sido tratado de forma sistemática, mediante una visión global y multidimensional que pone de relieve los vínculos existentes entre política interior y exterior, a la vez que analiza el rol de la monarquía de España en el contexto europeo. -
La naturaleza como artificio : representaciones de lo natural en el modernismo
by
Call Number: Full text onlineISBN: 9788484899112Publication Date: 2016explora cómo la naturaleza se presenta en la literatura modernista latinoamericana, mostrando una naturaleza transformada por la mano del hombre, no como un espacio puro e inmaculado, sino como un artificio.
Recommended Databases
These library databases and e-resources are recommended because they will help you find relevant information for most Spanish topics and assignments at SSU. These databases primarily focus on academic research articles published in peer-reviewed journals, but may contain other kinds of sources, as well. If you're not sure whether an article is scholarly, you may want to consult with a librarian for help.
Literature and Linguistics
If your research project is focused on literature or language, check out these databases:
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Contains records for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
-
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Critical essays on contemporary authors, with biographical, critical, principal works, and further study information. Includes published criticism on the works of creative writers now living or who died after 1959. Note: this database is a subset of the print version of CLC.
-
Fuente Academica Plus This link opens in a new window
Covering all major academic disciplines, Fuente Académica Plus provides Spanish- and Portuguese-language journals for scholarly research. It offers many quality journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain.
History
Looking for critical studies of historical events and periods? Check out a few history databases.
-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers world history from 1450 to the present (excluding Canada and North America -- see America:History and Life). A special emphasis is placed upon the inclusion of English-language journal and book titles published throughout the world.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an archive of full-text scholarship, digital collections, and digital images. As of August 2024, all Artstor content has been moved to JSTOR. JSTOR includes content from disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, arts, and sciences.
The Arts
If you're looking for information on art, film, dance, theater, or music, here are some databases dedicated to the arts.
-
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
An international array of peer-selected art publications, 1929-current , with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
-
International Bibliography of Theater and Dance This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. Includes key full text journals such as Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, PAJ, Research in Drama Education, TDR, Theater, and many more.
-
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film, including film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Social and Cultural Issues
Your research may touch on social and cultural issues, and there are many databases you might want to explore in the fields of sociology, politics, and anthropology. There are some that specialize in Spanish-language journals.
-
Fuente Academica Plus This link opens in a new window
Covering all major academic disciplines, Fuente Académica Plus provides Spanish- and Portuguese-language journals for scholarly research. It offers many quality journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain.
-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers sociology, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social work, theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and more.
-
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to present in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture; and interdisciplinary studies.
Want to see all the databases at your disposal? Browse our A-Z list of databases to identify a collection that best suits your research.
Borrowing From Other Libraries
Are you looking for something we don’t have? We can get it for you! You can access all kinds of materials from other libraries through CSU+ and our resource sharing program.
Search all of the CSU libraries and other lending libraries using OneSearch and easily place requests directly by clicking Get it.
Most materials will be received in just a few days. There are no late fees and you can borrow items for up to 60 days.