Finding Books or Articles in Sonoma State University Library
OneSearch is the library search tool where you can find almost everything the SSU Library owns or subscribes to on one platform. Use OneSearch to find books or articles on physics for your research project.
Most of our physical books are located on the 3rd floor of the library. Materials requested online can be picked up from the 2nd floor Info/Checkout Desk or 24/7 library lockers.
Most scholarly articles are available through OneSearch or library databases. Materials requested from other libraries will be available in about 24 hours.
Books in the Library
Take a look at some of our recently added physics books!
Click the following book titles to see their location and call numbers in the Catalog:
-
Cultural History of Physics
by
Call Number: Full Text OnlineISBN: 1003849342Publication Date: 2025While the physical sciences are a continuously evolving source of technology and of understanding about our world, they have become so specialized and rely on so much prerequisite knowledge that for many people today the divide between the sciences and the humanities seems even greater than it was when C. P. Snow delivered his famous 1959 lecture, "The Two Cultures."In A Cultural History of Physics, Hungarian scientist and educator Károly Simonyi succeeds in bridging this chasm by describing the experimental methods and theoretical interpretations that created scientific knowledge, from ancient times to the present day, within the cultural environment in which it was formed. -
Exploring Ethnography of Outer Space : Methods and Perspectives.
by
Call Number: Full Text OnlineISBN: 9781040299487Publication Date: 2025This book explores new methods and perspectives in the anthropology of outer space. For the past ten years, scholarship of outer space has grown significantly in the social sciences. Now, an international community of anthropologists is starting to produce significant contributions to this work. -
An introduction to continuum physics
by
Call Number: Full Text OnlineISBN: 9781108956499Publication Date: 2025This textbook provides a comprehensive account of continuum physics, providing readers with the theoretical tools to apply concepts across many areas of research within the physical sciences and engineering. With numerous worked examples and exercises, it would be valuable for students in physics, chemistry, mechanical engineering, and geoscience.
Recommended Databases
These library databases and e-resources are recommended because they will help you find relevant information for most physics topics and assignments at SSU. These databases primarily focus on academic research articles published in peer-reviewed journals, but may contain other kinds of sources, as well. If you're not sure whether an article is scholarly, you may want to consult with a librarian for help.
-
American Institute of Physics - Scitation This link opens in a new window
Supports the study and advancement of physics and related disciplines including physics, chemistry, geosciences, engineering, and acoustics.
-
ArXiv.org This link opens in a new window
An e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. The contents of arXiv conform to Cornell University academic standards. arXiv is owned, operated and funded by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. arXiv is also partially funded by the National Science Foundation.
-
Nature This link opens in a new window
Important journal and information resource for the basic biological and physical sciences.
Want to see all the databases at your disposal? Browse our A-Z list of databases to identify a collection that best suits your research.
Borrowing From Other Libraries
Are you looking for something we don’t have? We can get it for you! You can access all kinds of materials from other libraries through CSU+ and our resource sharing program.
Search all of the CSU libraries and other lending libraries using OneSearch and easily place requests directly by clicking Get it.
Most materials will be received in just a few days. There are no late fees and you can borrow items for up to 60 days.