Finding Books or Articles in Sonoma State University Library
OneSearch is the library search tool where you can find almost everything the SSU Library owns or subscribes to on one platform. Use OneSearch to find books or articles on earth and environmental science for your research project.
Most of our physical books are located on the 3rd floor of the library. Materials requested online can be picked up from the 2nd floor Info/Checkout Desk or 24/7 library lockers.
Most scholarly articles are available through OneSearch or library databases. Materials requested from other libraries will be available in about 24 hours.
Books in the Library
Take a look at some of our recently added earth and environmental science books!
Click the following book titles to see their location and call numbers in the Catalog:
-
Understanding Past Earthquakes
by
Call Number: Full Text OnlineISBN: 9783031735806Publication Date: 2025This open access book presents the state of the art in research on the characteristics of past earthquakes. It presents an overview of contemporary developments, their use cases, and practical considerations, with the aim of introducing readers to recently developed methodologies as well as the sources, derivation, and handling of their uncertainties. -
Citizens’ Observatories on Geohazards : Lessons from Five Pilots
by
Call Number: Full Text OnlineISBN: 9783031533716Publication Date: 2025This open access book shows how citizens' involvement in geohazard risks prevention can strengthen regional and national risk management systems, to demonstrate a new form of engagement between civil society and local authorities. The lessons learned in in this book, where the local communities were engaged to actively participate in risk preparedness and monitoring and incorporate local capacities into risk management systems, are reported. A cooperation and resource platform on geohazards risk assessment, preparedness, mitigation, and prevention was used as interface between the citizens and the risk management system. -
Rock Fracture Mechanics and Fracture Criteria
by
Call Number: Full Text OnlineISBN: 9789819758210Publication Date: 2024-08-20This open access book delves into the realms of geotechnical engineering and solid mechanics. In order to establish fracture parameters that are both relevant and conducive to safety, the book extensively investigates the fracture mechanical properties of mode I, mode II, and mode III in brittle rock materials.
Recommended Databases
These library databases and e-resources are recommended because they will help you find relevant information for most earth and environmental science topics and assignments at SSU. These databases primarily focus on academic research articles published in peer-reviewed journals, but may contain other kinds of sources, as well. If you're not sure whether an article is scholarly, you may want to consult with a librarian for help.
-
GeoRef This link opens in a new windowGeoscience database (American Geological Institute), published since 1785, covering geology, geography, and other geosciences.
-
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
A full-text database covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, and more.
-
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to journals in the science and social sciences. Included are journals from a host of scientific societies and scientific, technical and medical (STM) publishers.
Want to see all the databases at your disposal? Browse our A-Z list of databases to identify a collection that best suits your research.
Working Papers and Preprints
Working papers are preliminary works, released to share ideas or invite discussion and feedback, often prior to the submission of a paper to a peer-reviewed journal or conference.
A preprint is a full draft of a scholarly article or research paper that is shared publicly before formal peer review and publication in a journal. It allows researchers to quickly disseminate their findings and receive feedback from the scientific community. Preprints are not yet certified by peer review, so they should be interpreted with caution.
-
EarthArXivEarthArXiv is an independent preprint server that publishes articles from all subdomains of Earth Science and related domains of planetary science.
-
ESS Open ArchiveEarth and Space Science Open Archive. Governed by a partnership of several geophysical science societies and Wiley.
-
US Geological Survey Publications WarehouseAs a Federal agency, the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) has a responsibility to make the results of its scientific investigations widely, easily, and promptly available to the public as scholarly publications. These publications include, but are not limited to, USGS publication series, journal articles, books, book chapters, other government and nongovernment publications, cooperator publications, and conference proceedings.
-
California Geological SurveyThe California Geological Survey is one of the oldest geological surveys in the nation. Our mission is to provide scientific products and services about the state's geology, seismology, and minerals that affect the health, safety, and business interests of the people of California.
Borrowing From Other Libraries
Are you looking for something we don’t have? We can get it for you! You can access all kinds of materials from other libraries through CSU+ and our resource sharing program.
Search all of the CSU libraries and other lending libraries using OneSearch and easily place requests directly by clicking Get it.
Most materials will be received in just a few days. There are no late fees and you can borrow items for up to 60 days.