What are reference sources?
Reference sources provide a broad or general introduction to a topic, and often provide links or "pointers" (e.g., bibliographies, references, authors) to other information sources. They are a great place to begin exploring your research topic, and may help you convert a very broad topic into a more focused, more specific research question. Specific reference sources include dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Interdisciplinary Reference Databases
Encyclopedias are a great place for initial research topic ideas. You might want to explore the following encyclopedia databases in order to get overviews of a topic that include major aspects, issues, people or events related to the topic. (Hint: This can help you narrow your topic's focus as you develop your research.) Here are our preferred sources for education:
-
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new windowOver 100 online multi-volume reference works, primarily in the social sciences and education. Great starting point for authoritative overviews on thousands of topics.
-
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Offers fully-indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including Oxford Companions Series. Covers a wide range of fields and includes illustrations, maps, timelines, biographies, and links to authoritative websites.
Subject-Specific Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
-
Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration
by
Call Number: Full text onlineISBN: 9781452265162Publication Date: 2006-02-16With over 600 entries, written by over 200 professors, graduate students, practitioners and association officials, the two-volumes of this encyclopedia represent the most comprehensive knowledge base of educational leadership and school administration that has, as yet, been compiled. -
Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies
by
Call Number: Full text onlineISBN: 9781412958837Publication Date: 2010-02-16The Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies provides a comprehensive introduction to the academic field of curriculum studies for the scholar, student, teacher, and administrator. -
Encyclopedia of School Psychology
by
Call Number: Full text onlineISBN: 0761930809Publication Date: 2005-04-27he Encyclopedia of School Psychology is the first comprehensive guide to this field featuring the latest research on school learning, motivation, and educational assessment. Approximately 250 entries by 175 contributing authors from psychology, education and counseling, child development, and special education address student success, behavior disorders, intelligence testing, learning disabilities, strategies to improve academic skills, and more
