Finding Books or Articles in Sonoma State University Library
OneSearch is the library search tool where you can find almost everything the SSU Library owns or subscribes to on one platform. Use OneSearch to find books or articles on cinematic arts and technology for your research project.
Most of our physical books are located on the 3rd floor of the library. Materials requested online can be picked up from the 2nd floor Info/Checkout Desk or 24/7 library lockers.
Most scholarly articles are available through OneSearch or library databases. Materials requested from other libraries will be available in about 24 hours.
Books in the Library
Take a look at some of our recently added cinematic arts and technology books!
Click the following book titles to see their location and call numbers in the Catalog:
-
Global Mountain Cinema
by
Call Number: Full Text OnlineISBN: 9781399519991Publication Date: 2025The first academic book to approach mountain film culture from transgeneric, transnational, ecotritical, and transmedial perspectives. -
Youtube and music : Online culture and everyday life.
by
Call Number: Full Text OnlineISBN: 9781501387302Publication Date: 2023YouTube has afforded new ways of documenting, performing and circulating musical creativity. This first sustained exploration of YouTube and music shows how record companies, musicians and amateur users have embraced YouTube's potential to promote artists, stage performances, build artistic (cyber)identity, initiate interactive composition, refresh music pedagogy, perform fandom, influence musical tourism and soundtrack our everyday lives. Speaking from a variety of perspectives, musicologists, film scholars, philosophers, new media theorists, cultural geographers and psychologists use case studies to situate YouTube as a vital component of contemporary musical culture. -
Indefinite Visions : Cinema and the Attractions of Uncertainty
by
Call Number: Full text onlineISBN: 1474407137Publication Date: 2022Examines the aesthetics, concepts and politics of chaotic and obscured moving images. Audiovisual culture often privileges the instantly identifiable: the recognizable face, the well-timed stunt, the perfectly synchronized line of dialogue. Yet order and clarity do not come 'naturally' to the moving image. Light, motion, definition, compression: the conditions of recording, storing and screening can subject audiovisual media to countless variations, pulling them towards the indefinite and illegible.
Recommended Databases
These library databases and e-resources are recommended because they will help you find relevant information for most cinematic arts & technology topics and assignments at SSU. These databases primarily focus on academic research articles published in peer-reviewed journals, but may contain other kinds of sources, as well. If you're not sure whether an article is scholarly, you may want to consult with a librarian for help.
-
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Selective full text and references in all areas related to communication and mass media.
-
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film, including film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an archive of full-text scholarship, digital collections, and digital images. As of August 2024, all Artstor content has been moved to JSTOR. JSTOR includes content from disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, arts, and sciences.
Borrowing From Other Libraries
Are you looking for something we don’t have? We can get it for you! You can access all kinds of materials from other libraries through CSU+ and our resource sharing program.
Search all of the CSU libraries and other lending libraries using OneSearch and easily place requests directly by clicking Get it.
Most materials will be received in just a few days. There are no late fees and you can borrow items for up to 60 days.