What are reference sources?
Reference sources provide a broad or general introduction to a topic, and often provide links or "pointers" (e.g., bibliographies, references, authors) to other information sources. They are a great place to begin exploring your research topic, and may help you convert a very broad topic into a more focused, more specific research question. You can use reference sources to learn more about:
- Art movements
- Artist biographies
- Historical events that impact art
-
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowFormerly Grove Art Online, it includes the entire 34 volumes of The Dictionary of Art, with articles as well as links to images on gallery and museum web pages around the world. Includes biographies of artists and searchable images.
-
Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Very Short Introductions offer concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, new insights, and enthusiasm to make often challenging topics highly readable to develop your core knowledge.
-
The Oxford dictionary of American art and artists
by
Call Number: Full text onlineISBN: 9780191807671Publication Date: 2018In this dictionary of American art, more than 1600 alphabetically arranged entries cover painters, sculptors, graphic artists, photographers, printmakers, and contemporary hybrid artists, along with important aspects of the cultural infrastructure. -
Art and architecture
by
Call Number: Full text onlineISBN: 0191823481Publication Date: 2016This dictionary comprises authoritative, highly accessible entries on artists, architects, and their works. These entries are supplementary to other art and architecture titles in the Quick Reference collection, and are written by specialist authors. The dictionary is an ongoing project, and more entries will be added over time. -
A dictionary of modern and contemporary art
by
Call Number: Full text onlineISBN: 9780191792229Publication Date: 2015This reference work boasts worldwide coverage of modern and contemporary art from 1900 to the present day. It features A to Z entries on movements, styles, techniques, artists, critics, schools, and galleries. A valuable resource for artists, art students, and art lovers, it gives indication of public collections and publicly sited works as well as suggestions for further reading within entries. For this new edition the existing entries have been revised and updated, and more than 80 new entries have been added, greatly expanding the international coverage of the dictionary.
