Finding Books or Articles in Sonoma State University Library
OneSearch is the library search tool where you can find almost everything the SSU Library owns or subscribes to on one platform. Use OneSearch to find books or articles on history for your research project.
Most of our physical books are located on the 3rd floor of the library. Materials requested online can be picked up from the 2nd floor Info/Checkout Desk or 24/7 library lockers.
Most scholarly articles are available through OneSearch or library databases. Materials requested from other libraries will be available in about 24 hours.
Books in the Library
Take a look at some of our recently added history books!
Click the following book titles to see their location and call numbers in the Catalog:
-
Everyday Life in the Aztec World
by
ISBN: 9780521516365Publication Date: F1219.76.S64 B47 2021In Daily Life of the Aztecs, Frances Berdan and Michael Smith offer a view into the lives of real people, doing very human things, in the unique cultural world of Aztec central Mexico. -
Rough Draft of History
by
Call Number: Full Text OnlineISBN: 9780691232775A new view of twentieth-century US social movements, Rough Draft of History examines how national newspapers covered social movements and the organizations driving them. -
California
by
Call Number: Full text onlineISBN: 0300274238Publication Date: 2023-09-19California is the most multicultural state in the nation. As John Mack Faragher argues in this concise and lively history, that is nothing new. California's natural variety has always supported diversity, including Native peoples speaking dozens of distinct languages, Spanish and Mexican colonists, gold seekers from all corners of the globe, and successive migrant waves from the eastern states, Europe, Latin America, Asia, and the Pacific Islands.
Recommended Databases
These library databases and e-resources are recommended because they will help you find relevant information for most History topics and assignments at SSU. These databases primarily focus on academic research articles published in peer-reviewed journals, but may contain other kinds of sources, as well. If you're not sure whether an article is scholarly, you may want to consult with a librarian for help.
-
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes Mexico.
-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers world history from 1450 to the present (excluding Canada and North America -- see America:History and Life). A special emphasis is placed upon the inclusion of English-language journal and book titles published throughout the world.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an archive of full-text scholarship, digital collections, and digital images. As of August 2024, all Artstor content has been moved to JSTOR. JSTOR includes content from disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, arts, and sciences.
Borrowing From Other Libraries
Are you looking for something we don’t have? We can get it for you! You can access all kinds of materials from other libraries through CSU+ and our resource sharing program.
Search all of the CSU libraries and other lending libraries using OneSearch and easily place requests directly by clicking Get it.
Most materials will be received in just a few days. There are no late fees and you can borrow items for up to 60 days.