Research Guides: How do I find data?: Business &amp; Economics

Company Data

Mergent Online
Hard-to-get, timely annual reports and financial data on all companies in our International Company Data database. Also includes Country Profile Reports and an EDGAR search option.

Annual Business Survey
The Annual Business Survey provides regularly collected data on selected economic and demographic characteristics for businesses and business owners by gender, ethnicity, race, and veteran status.

DataCite
Search for datasets across over 1000 different major data centers and repositories including ICPSR, Harvard Dataverse, Data-Planet, the California Digital Library, Figshare, Dryad, the Center for Open Science, UC San Diego Library Digital Collections, etc.
Census Data
Learn about America's communities through Census data profiles. They cover 100,000+ different geographies: states, counties, places, tribal areas, zip codes, and congressional districts. And topics like education, employment, health, and housing.
Population Reference Bureau
A database with hundreds of variables for the US and the world.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
US-focused data: gross domestic product (GDP), consumer spending, income & saving, industries, international trade & investments, prices & inflation, investment in fixed assets, employment, government
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
Download, graph, and track 61,000 US and international time series from 48 sources. From the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. Includes a range of U.S. and international economic data (price indexes, exchange rates, interest rates, GDP, trade balances, etc.). Useful features include easy browsing for U.S. regional data (states, MSAs, counties, BEA regions, Fed districts, Census divisions) and links to Liber8, the Fed's portal to current economic indicators, research and recent reports, and GeoFRED, a data-mapping tool which displays color-coded employment data on the state, MSA, and county levels.

IBIS World
In-depth reports on over 700 industries. Each 30-40pp report includes key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates.

Data.gov
Data.gov is an open source searchable database of nearly 90,000 datasets on industry, people, and places.
Economic Census
conducted every five years, covers retail trade, wholesale trade, service industries, construction industries, manufactures, mineral industries, transportation, communications, utilities, and financial, insurance, and real estate industries.
Industry Economic Accounts
Detailed statistics on industries, updated more often than Economic Census data, but often without as much geographic detail.

Statista
This resource is only available from an on-campus wired or wireless connection. Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources, including consumer data, market research, social and cultural statistics, media and advertising data, and more.

Census Data
Learn about America's communities through Census data profiles. They cover 100,000+ different geographies: states, counties, places, tribal areas, zip codes, and congressional districts. And topics like education, employment, health, and housing.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. The BLS mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision–making.
Consumer Trends - National Retail Federation
The National Retail Federation has represented retail for over a century. NRF publishes periodic research on specific groups of consumers and shopping trends.