Library News

The library is pleased to provide access to a new digital archives collection: Political Extremism and Radicalism. This collection provides insight on unorthodox groups and movements from both the right and left of the political spectrum through rare, hard to access primary sources supporting the study of activism, cultural studies, political science, policy studies, gender, sexuality, race, religion, civil rights, and other related areas of research. 

The archive consists of three parts: 

• Far-Right and Left Political Groups in the US, Europe, and Australia in the Twentieth Century
• Far-Right Groups in America
• Global Communist and Socialist Movements

It includes material source from archives including UK HOme Office and Security Service, the American Radicalism Collection at Michigan State University, UC Davis, University of London, Yale, Harvard, the British Library, the Federal Bureau of Investigation, and more. 

It includes the FBI files of political figures like Charles Lindbergh, Joseph McCarthy, and J. Robert Oppenheimer, the papers of people including Walter Lippmann and Rose Pastor Stokes, and multiple collections of pamphlets, leaflets, and ephemera.

This collection allows for a deep dive in understanding all kinds of radical political movements in the US, Europe, and Australia throughout history. If you'd like to work with a librarian to explore this collection, contact us via email or feel free to dive into the collection and explore. 

This is for all of you in the Counseling program: Have you checked out the wide range of training videos on psychotherapy.net? Psychotherapy.net is a rich resource for exploring different therapeutic approaches and issues. 

They recently released a new series, Reimagining Multiculturalism: A Contemporary Narrative Approach, that focuses on how to help clients trace the impacts of systemic racism and create new stories to support their health and wellbeing. This three-part series explores Narrative Therapy in interviews with Travis Heath, Associate Professor at SDSU, and through recorded therapy sessions using these techniques. 

If you're studying counseling and psychotherapy, check out the psychotherapy.net library of videos to deepen your learning. 

The Digital Sanborn Maps collection was recently upgraded to ProQuest's new platform, making the maps even easier to explore. 

The Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps from 1867-1970. Their maps chart the growth and development of cities and towns in the US for over 100 years. Our subscription includes the California maps and offers an amazing perspective on how California grew over time. 

From the Browse menu, select the city you're interested in, and then the dates you want to view. Look at the Index Sheet to find specific streets. The maps also include details about water facilities, fire departments, and fire-related ordinances. 

These are great if you're studying urban development or the history of a specific city or town in California. Or if you just like looking at cool old maps. Have fun exploring!

The Artstor platform is being sunsetted and will no longer be available as a standalone database. But not to worry! All of the Artstor content is still available and many of the features that you love about Artstor are available on the JSTOR platform. 

Images will now be included in results when you search JSTOR, but you can limit your search to only images, as well. And you can browse specific collections, including those from museums like the American Folk Art Museum, the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, and the Art Institute of Chicago. 

You can save images, create slideshows, and share image folders by logging into your JSTOR account and going to Workspaces. You will need to create a JSTOR account if you don't already have one. 

We think you'll love using Artstor on the JSTOR platform. If you have any questions, reach out to a librarian or stop by the Information/Checkout Desk whenever the library is open.