The most frequently-used databases
Comprehensive, multidisciplinary, scholarly full-text research journals. This is a good starting point for most topics, but doesn't offer the depth that subject-specific database offer.
JSTOR is an archive of full-text scholarship, digital collections, and digital images. As of August 2024, all Artstor content has been moved to JSTOR. JSTOR includes content from disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, arts, and sciences.
Provides full-text access to journals in the science and social sciences. Included are journals from a host of scientific societies and scientific, technical and medical (STM) publishers.
Access a range of scholarly journals and ebooks on a wide range of topics from publisher Springer.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Latino Civil Rights During the Carter Administration gives rich insight into the efforts of the Executive Branch of U.S. government to reach out to the burgeoning Latino population during the last 2 years of the Carter Administration. Major topics covered in this collection include inflation, bilingual education, police brutality, political unrest in Latin America, Haitian refugees, and immigration (legal and otherwise), Puerto Rican self-determination, and the U.S. Navy’s use of Vieques Island.
Mergent Market Atlas offers a wealth of detail on company financials, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability, officers and directors. You can search for specific companies or company characteristics. Also includes ESG ratings reports, FTSE Russell index data, economic indicator data, country reports, and more.
Contains digitized primary source documents from fringe groups from both the right and left of the political spectrum. Content supports scholars and students answering questions on philosophical, social, political, and economic ideologies as well as on contemporary issues surrounding gender, sexuality, race, religion, civil rights, universal suffrage, and much more.
This collection of streaming video on the SAGE Research Methods platform offers support on the practical skills that you need to successfully complete your research. Key areas such as writing a research proposal, planning and designing a research project, and securing ethical approval are explicitly covered. Practical skills such as project management, writing for publication, presenting work, and building networks are also presented through helpful explanatory videos.
