Research Guides: Market Research: Consumer Characteristics and Psychographics

Consumer Data

Census Quick Facts
Useful comparison tool to see how locations differ in population, and business makeup.
Census Bureau Data
Popular facts (population, income, etc.) and frequently requested data about your community provided by the US Census.
American Time Use Survey
The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.

Nielsen Insights
Nielsen is a global measurement and data analytics company that provides information on consumers and markets worldwide.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources, including consumer data, market research, social and cultural statistics, media and advertising data, and more. ***STATISTA DOES NOT WORK WELL IN FIREFOX; PLEASE USE AN ALTERNATE BROWSER***
Business Source Premier (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
BSP is a full-text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business. BSP includes access to academic journals, trade journals, company profiles, case studies, market research reports, SWOT analyses and more.
BSP also includes Biographies, Books/Monographs, Book Reviews, Country Reports, Industry Profiles, Interviews, Obituaries, Popular Magazines and Newspapers, Product Reviews, and Working Papers.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Subject coverage spans a spectrum of management disciplines including: strategy; leadership; library and information management; marketing and human resource management; plus a substantial number of engineering, applied science and technology titles.

Survey of Consumers, University of Michigan
From Reuters/Univ. of Michigan - current and historical data

Silicon Valley Bank
Uses industry and consumer data to predict trends in the wine industry, including production, sales, and marketing.
Wine Business
Published by Wine Communications Group, Inc. and provides editorial features focused on wine production, marketing, and business.
more...less...
Can't access the full text? Find the article you're looking for in the library's print collection.