Search Journals by Title
If you have the title of a particular journal, enter the journal title in the Snoopy Library Catalog to see if it is in our collection.
If it is available online, you'll find a link to the appropriate online resource.
If it is available in print, you'll see the list of issues we own after "SSU Owns:"
Back issues of print journals may be in the Automated Retrieval System. If you search in Snoopy and come across the
button, click on it, type your last name and submit. The item will be available for pick-up at the Circulation Desk on the second floor, usually within 15 minutes or so.
InterLibrary Loan
If you need an article that we do not have in print or online, use Interlibrary Services (ILS) to request the resource from another institution.
Search Journals by Topic
The Library subscribes to around 35,000 journals, mostly online. (SSU students, faculty and staff only)
If you know your topic, but are not sure which journal has an article on that topic, you'll want to use the Library's research databases and full-text journal collections.
In the following links, if you want more information about the particular database, click on the small
icon after the database name.
- Sociology Databases Databases listed in the Core category are the best starting places. The More category lists other databases that may be useful, depending on your particular topic.
- Education Databases If your topic has anything to do with schools, youth, college students, etc., then search the educational research.
- Psychology Databases For social psychology it is also good to search the psychological literature, just be sure to look at the research from a sociological perspective.
- Newspapers Search the newspapers for background information or articles about local issues, schools and news. ProQuest Newsstand includes the Press Democrat and current San Francisco Chronicle.
- A-Z list of databases Browse the list of all databases available through the SSU library
Sociology Journals
Here are just a few of the sociology journals we have available through this library:
- American journal of sociology
- American Sociological Review
- Criminology
- Demography
- Gender and society
- Journal of contemporary ethnography
- Journal of family issues.
- Journal of health and social behavior
- Journal of marriage and the family
- Men and masculinities
- Qualitative sociology
- Social science quarterly
- Social forces
- Social problems
- Social science and medicine
- Sociological inquiry
- Sociological quarterly
- Sociological theory
- Sociology of health and illness
- Symbolic interaction
- Additional sociology journals
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait