Databases for Background Information
For background information and/or conducting a very thorough search, these databases may be helpful:
- Academic Search Premier
Full-text of more than 1,100 multidisciplinary peer-reviewed journals - Proquest Newsstand

Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. - Lexis-Nexis Academic
Core Biology Databases
These resources are the First Stop for biology research articles:
- Agricola

Published by the National Agricultural Library. - Biological Abstracts
The primary database for biology research. - Biological and Agricultural Index Plus Full Text

Biological & Agricultural Index Plus is a full text and bibliographic database that indexes international publications, - Science Citation Index
via Web of Science, from 2001 to current - Web of Science tutorials Lots of tutorials and guides here, to help you become an expert in using this database.
- CalFlora

Provides information on 8,375 currently recognized California vascular plant species, including over 800,000 records of plant observations and 20,000 photographs. - Chemical Abstracts via SciFinder
- Chemical Abstracts Registry via SciFinder
- SciFinder tutorials A wide variety of tutorials and guides located here, to help you use SciFinder more effectively.
- Environment Complete A full-text database covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, and more.
- GeoBase Geography, including biogeography.
- GeoRef The premier geology database.
- JSTOR Biological Sciences Note: This database contains full text of each publication from inception, but does not cover the current 5 years.
- MEDLINE via PubMed

Medline(or PubMed) is the National Library of Medicine's database covering the fields of medicine, biomedical research, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
More Biology-related databases
- Annual Reviews Online
- Dissertations & Theses (Proquest) Full text, can be downloaded
- Greenfile GreenFILE database offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Content includes scholarly, government and general-interest titles.
- MathSciNet
- Toxnet
Do we have a journal?
Search Snoopy Library Catalog for print and e-journals by title
NOTE: If you have an article citation and need to know if you can access it though the SSU library, enter the journal title here to see if it is in our collection.
If not, use InterLibrary Loan
If you come across in article that we do not have print or electronic full-text access to, use Interlibrary Services (ILS) to request the resource from another library.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait