APA In-text Citations
Within the text of the paper, you acknowledge the use of another author's material by using parenthetical references.
These references should give enough information to enable the reader to find the full citation in the List of References at the end of the paper.
The full citation for each parenthetical reference must be documented in the List of References.
Examples:
The global debt crisis is having a strong impact on women and children in developing nations (Bronstein, 1982, p. 277).
--OR--
Bronstein (1982) contends the global debt crisis is having a strong impact on women and children in developing nations (p. 277).
For electronic sources that have no page number, give the paragraph number.
APA (American Psychological Association) List of References - Examples
The List of References goes at the end of your paper. Items should be listed alphabetically.
*INDENT FIVE SPACES ON SECOND AND SUBSEQUENT LINES* (indent not shown on screen)
Book, No Author:
World development report. (1989). New York: Oxford UP.
Book, One Author:
Berry, W. (1981). The gift of good land. San Francisco: NorthPoint.
Book, Two or More Authors:
Winston, B. L., Reinhart, M. L., Sacker, J. R., Gottlieb, W., Oscar, B., & Harris, D.P. (1980). Nepal in crisis: Growth and stagnation at the periphery. Delhi: Oxford University Press.
Book, with Editor:
Del Castillo, A. R. (Ed.). (1990). Between borders: Essays on Mexicana/Chicana history. Encino: Floricanto.
Essay or Article in a Collection or Anthology:
Gonzalez, R. (1987). Distinctions in western women's experience: Ethnicity, class, and social change. In S. Armitage (Ed.), The women's west (pp. 237-252). Norman: University of Oklahoma.
Scholarly Article, from Library Database:
Borman, W. C., Hanson, M. A., Oppler, S. H., Pulakos, E.D., & White, L. A. (1993). Role of early supervisory experience in supervisor performance. Journal of Applied Psychology, 78 (3), 443-449. Retrieved from PsycARTICLES database.
Scholarly Article, from Journal with Continuous Pagination:
Mivedev, Z. (1990). The environmental destruction of the Soviet Union. The Ecologist, 20, 24-29.
Scholarly Article, from Journal with Separate Pagination:
Ayoade, J. (1989). The culture debate in Africa. The Black Scholar, 20(2-3), 2-7.
*INDENT FIVE SPACES ON SECOND AND SUBSEQUENT LINES* (indent not shown on screen)
Magazine Article:
Ferguson, S. (1990, September/October). America's frustration with the homeless. Utne Reader, 41, 50-55.
Magazine Article, from Library Database:
Berry, P. (2008, March 29). Doing your part, digitally. Billboard,
4. Retrieved from Academic Search Premier database.
Newspaper Article:
Lohr, S. (2004, December 3). Health care technology is a promise unfinanced. The New York Times, p. C5.
Newspaper Article, No Author:
Environmental audits being considered by EC. (1991, February 11). Wall Street Journal, p. A8.
Newspaper Article, from Library Database:
Nikesh, A.
(2008, May 18). Online revolution: Adapt or die. Sunday Times.
Retrieved from Proquest Newstand database.
Encyclopedia Article
Madden, E. H. (1973). Civil disobedience. In Dictionary of the history of ideas (Vol. 3, pp. 25-37). New York: Scribner's.
Encyclopedia Article, Online:
Graham, G. (2005).
Behaviorism. In E.N. Zalta (Ed.), The Stanford encyclopedia of
philosophy. Retreived from http://plato.stanford.edu.
*INDENT FIVE SPACES ON SECOND AND SUBSEQUENT LINES* (indent not shown on screen)
Web Page:
Nunley, K. (2001). The caffeine craze of youth. Retrieved from http://help4teachers.com/caffeine.htm.
Web Page, No Author:
Globalization and clothes. (2006). Retrieved from the Women and the Economy: A Project of UNPAC Web site: http://unpac.ca/economy/g_clothes.html.
Audio Podcast:
Van Nuys, D. (Producer). (2006, October 13). Understanding autism [Show 54]. Shrink Rap Radio. Podcast retrieved from http://www.shrinkrapradio.com.
Blog posting:
bfy. (2007, January 22). Re: The unfortunate prerequisite and consequences of partitioning your mind. Message posted to http://scienceblogs.com/pharyngula.
Wiki:
Psychometric assessment. (n.d.). Retrieved January 28, 2007, from The Psychology Wiki: http://psychology.wikia.com/wiki/Psychometric_assessment.
Video/Movie:
Soderbergh, S. (Director). (2000). Traffic [Motion picture]. United States: USA Home Entertainment.
Video/Movie, Online:
Norton, R. (2006, November 4). How to train a cat to operate a light switch [Video file]. Video posted to http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vja83KLQXZs.
APA - More Info
- APA In-text Citations (Hacker)
How to document sources within the text of your paper. - APA List of References (Hacker)
How to format a variety of information sources for your bibliography. - APA Sample Paper Format (Hacker)
PDF document illustrating margins, spacing, and general MLA format - Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Standard APA guide for undergraduates, graduates, and scholars. (SSU Library book). - APA style guide to electronic references
Supplement to standard APA style guide, covering online sources.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait