Explore our collections below:
- Physical Collections lists our print collections.
- Digital Collections lists collections that contain selected digitized items, as well as digital-only collections.
- Topics lists areas of focus for our collections.
Contact Us
Information/Check-Out Desk
707-664-2375
Hours
Mon.-Thurs. 7:30am - 10:00pm
Fri. 7:30am - 5:00pm
Sat. 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sun. 2:00pm - 10:00pm
Our Collections
 |
Brenda Starr Comic CollectionSyndicated comic strip art created in 1947 by Dale Messick
|
 |
Brown (Corrick) Santa Rosa Symphony Collection38 years of Santa Rosa Symphony history, collected during the tenure of Conductor Corrick Brown (1928-2016) |
 |
C.O.A.A.S.T. Scrapbook CollectionScrapbooks of the organization Californians Organized to Acquire Access to State Tidelands (1968-1972) |
 |
California Folklore MiscellanyOral histories and reminiscences that document North Bay history with a focus on folklore and family stories (1850-1983)
|
 |
Crevelli (John P.) PapersPapers of an environmental historian on county, state, and national environmental issues (1931-2015)
|
 |
Dawson Lime Kiln Photograph CollectionPhotographs of 19th century California and Nevada lime kilns taken by David Dawson Photographs of California and Nevada lime kilns by David Dawson |
 |
Dust Bowl Migration ArchiveDust Bowl era documents collected by author and SSU professor Gerald Haslam (1938-1981)
|
 |
English Chapbook Collection19th century pocket-sized songbooks and miscellanies
|
 |
Finley-McFarling Genealogy CollectionGenealogy and history of an early Sonoma County family (1740-1830) |
 |
Goodman (Max) CollectionA collection of letters exchanged between Max Goodman, a Philadelphia pharmacist, and Charmian London between 1932 and 1935.
|
 |
Hauck (Roland) PapersMaterials focused on environmental issues concerning Sonoma County creeks and streams, and the construction of Warm Springs Dam
|
 |
Hemingway (Ernest) LettersCorrespondence from Hemingway to journalist Denne Petitclerc (1956-1958)
|
 |
Hoyt Earthquake Photograph CollectionPhotographs of Santa Rosa following the 1906 earthquake |
 |
Hudson (John W.) PapersEthnographic data on California Native Americans collected by Hudson (1848-1977)
|
 |
Indochinese Cultures ProjectPhotographs of Southeast Asian refugees in California (1958-1984)
|
 |
Justi (Leopold) PapersPapers documenting the life of a Glen Ellen (Calif.) pioneer (1853-1874
|
 |
Kortum (William M.) PapersNorth Bay environmental history collected by the leader of the North Bay movement in the late 20th and early 21st century (1954-2014)
|
 |
LeBaron (Gaye) CollectionThe working papers of a distinguished Sonoma County journalist and historian (1800s-2022)
|
 |
LeBaron (John) Photograph CollectionPrints and photo negatives of a nationally recognized photographer and photojournalist (1950- 2014) |
 |
Lee (Hector) Folklore CollectionFolklore of northern California and beyond collected by SSU professor Lee (1850-1983)
|
 |
London (Jack) CollectionBooks and memorabilia related to American author Jack London (1897-2005)
|
 |
London (Jack) in Context CollectionBooks and research materials chronicling Jack London’s era (1800s-2013) |
 |
Lorch (Paul) CollectionMaterials documenting the Gay Rights Movement collected by journalist Paul Lorch, former editor of the Bay Area Reporter.
|
 |
Lyman Celtic CollectionBooks of Celtic poetry, fiction, and plays (1890s-1930s)
|
 |
McCabe (George E.) PapersPapers of a Sonoma State University founding father (1951-1998)
|
 |
Modini Ranch Journals CollectionHandwritten journals depicting life on a Sonoma County ranch (1935-2005) |
 |
Nakata and Stevens PapersYoshimatsu Nakata’s recollections as an employee of Jack London (1938-2002)
|
 |
North Bay Ethnic ArchiveOral histories and photos representing a variety of North Bay ethnic groups (1975-2000)
|
 |
Phillips (Walt) Small Press CollectionNumerous 20th century small press journal issues with an emphasis on poetry (1959-1999) |
 |
Press Democrat Empire Living CollectionThe Press Democrat Empire Living Collection contains feature articles written under various titles covering a wide range of topics that occurred throughout the Redwood Empire between 1948 and 1977. |
 |
Rare Books CollectionWide array of rare books on all subjects from the 17th through the 20th centuries
|
 |
Regional CollectionBooks and maps focused on North Bay history, government, people, and environmental issues (1860s-present)
|
 |
Regional Newspaper CollectionHistorical California and North Bay newspapers from 1883 to the early 1990s
|
 |
Rhinehart (Charles) PapersEnvironmental papers of a Sonoma County activist and founder of C.O.A.A.S.T. (Californians Organized to Acquire Access to State Tidelands) (1968-2005)
|
 |
Salazar (Rubén) CollectionNews articles and other material by and about Mexican American journalist Rubén Salazar (1955-2008)
|
 |
Schubert (John) Russian River CollectionMaterial relating to the history of Sonoma County’s Russian River area (1860-2019). |
 |
Simmons-Banta Photograph CollectionPhotographs of the Simmons and Banta families of Sonoma and Riverside counties, California (circa 1895-1950) |
 |
Smith (Ernestine) PapersEnvironmental papers of a Sonoma County activist (1959-1973)
|
 |
Sonoma County Agriculture, Land Use, and Tourism CollectionEphemera promoting Sonoma County and potential land use (1906-1915; 1949) |
 |
Sonoma County HighwaysRight-of-way appraisal files developed by the California Highway Commission (CalTrans) to document the access needed to build Highway 101 through Sonoma County (1940-1976)
|
 |
Sonoma County Oral History ProjectTranscripts of oral histories documenting the daily lives of 12 Sonoma County families (1975-1978) |
 |
Sonoma County Preservation ProjectPhotographs of historic buildings and sites from an SSU History Department program (1970s)
|
 |
Sonoma County Women’s Oral History CollectionMaterial relating to the history and development of the women’s movement in Sonoma County (1970-2008) |
 |
Spanish Civil War CollectionPosters and pamphlets from Spain’s Anti-Franco movement (1936-1945)
|
 |
Student Dissent PapersMiscellaneous items pertaining to student activism in the U.S. (1957-1971)
|
 |
Talbot (Roy Maxwell) PapersPhotographs, artifacts, and documents from the private collection of Roy Maxwell Talbot (1908-1943)
|
 |
Taylor (John Shackelford) PapersPapers documenting the life of a Sonoma County pioneer (1850-1948)
|
 |
Tombs (Nellie) PapersLate 19th century ephemera saved by a young girl living in Healdsburg (1885-1888)
|
 |
University ArchivesUniversity Archives preserves material on Sonoma State University’s campus history, beginning in 1961
|
 |
Warner (Iva) PapersEnvironmental papers of a Sonoma County activist (1963-1994)
|
 |
Windsor Oral HistoriesOral histories of longtime Windsor residents (1979)
|
 |
Woolsey (Lynn) Congressional PapersOfficial papers of a former U.S. Congresswoman who represented the North Bay (1993-2013) |
|
|
California Folklore MiscellanyOral histories and reminiscences that document North Bay history with a focus on folklore and family stories (1850-1983)
|
|
|
Crevelli (John P.) PapersPapers of an environmental historian on county, state, and national environmental issues (1931-2015)
|
|
|
Dawson Lime Kiln Photograph CollectionPhotographs of 19th century California and Nevada lime kilns taken by David Dawson Photographs of California and Nevada lime kilns by David Dawson |
 |
Environmental History Digital CollectionPhotographs and papers documenting environmental activities in northern California
|
|
|
Finley-McFarling Genealogy CollectionGenealogy and history of an early Sonoma County family (1740-1830) |
 |
Justi (Leopold) Digital CollectionMaterial on various aspects of Sonoma County (1853-1874).
|
|
|
Kortum (William M.) PapersNorth Bay environmental history collected by the leader of the North Bay movement in the late 20th and early 21st century (1954-2014)
|
|
|
LeBaron (Gaye) CollectionThe working papers of a distinguished Sonoma County journalist and historian (1800s-2022)
|
|
|
Modini Ranch Journals CollectionHandwritten journals depicting life on a Sonoma County ranch (1935-2005) |
 |
North Bay Digital MapsDigital images of the region’s geologic and topographic maps
|
|
|
North Bay Ethnic ArchiveOral histories and photos representing a variety of North Bay ethnic groups (1975-2000)
|
|
|
Rhinehart (Charles) PapersEnvironmental papers of a Sonoma County activist and founder of C.O.A.A.S.T. (Californians Organized to Acquire Access to State Tidelands) (1968-2005)
|
|
|
Smith (Ernestine) PapersEnvironmental papers of a Sonoma County activist (1959-1973)
|
|
|
Sonoma County Agriculture, Land Use, and Tourism CollectionEphemera promoting Sonoma County and potential land use (1906-1915; 1949) |
 |
Student Newspaper Digital CollectionStudent newspapers from Sonoma State University’s history, dating from 1961
|
|
|
Talbot (Roy Maxwell) PapersPhotographs, artifacts, and documents from the private collection of Roy Maxwell Talbot (1908-1943)
|
|
|
Tombs (Nellie) PapersLate 19th century ephemera saved by a young girl living in Healdsburg (1885-1888)
|
|
|
University ArchivesUniversity Archives preserves material on Sonoma State University’s campus history, beginning in 1961
|
Authors, Artists, & Musicians
Authors, Artists, & Musicians
California History & Politics
California History & Politics
Environmental History & Activism
Environmental History & Activism
North Bay History & Politics
North Bay History & Politics
Sonoma State University History
Sonoma State University History
World History & Literature
World History & Literature
United States History & Politics
United States History & Politics