Documenting 200 years of cultural, political, social and historical events, this collection of English news media, including newspapers, newsbooks, proclamations and pamphlets, provides insight into England’s development as a world power.
Large collection of British and Irish women's diaries and correspondence. Spanning more than 300 years, it provides first person accounts of about 500 women from all age groups, ethnicities, and many geographical regions. The materials may be browsed by author, source, year, place, historical events and personal events.
Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series, including political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects. Sample topics include: Social History of Britain, World History of Food, History of Political Thought, History of Latin America, History of Islam, History of Iran, Economic History of the United States.
Covers world history from 1450 to the present (excluding Canada and North America -- see America:History and Life). A special emphasis is placed upon the inclusion of English-language journal and book titles published throughout the world.
Provides a comprehensive discussion of Russia's people, politics, economics, religion, and social systems; and is designed to complement the study of comparative politics, world history, geography, literature, arts and culture and world cultures. Entries span the period from the earliest beginnings of the Russian nation to the rise and fall of the Soviet Union.