Skip to main content

University Library

Holocaust and Genocide Studies

Holocaust Studies

Holocaust Encyclopedia (United States Holocaust Memorial Museum)

The Holocaust and Other Genocides: An Introduction 
Available (free) as a single PDF file or by chapter direct from the NIOD Institute for War, Holocaust and Genocide Studies in Amsterdam. Chapters include: 

  • The Holocaust, 1933-1941-1945 
  • The Armenian Genocide, 1915 
  • The Cambodian Genocide, 1975-1979 
  • The Rwandan Genocide, 1994 
  • Crisis and Genocide in Yugoslavia, 1985-1995 
  • The Crime of Genocide and International Law 

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum (USHMM)
A living memorial to the Holocaust, the USHMM stimulates leaders and citizens to confront hatred, prevent genocide, promote human dignity, and strengthen democracy

Avalon Project: International Military Tribunal for Germany (Yale)
Includes material from the Nuremburg Trials, much of which is related to the Holocaust.

Center for Jewish History (CJH) Holocaust Resources: An Annotated Bibliography  
The archival collections of CJH are made up of primary resource materials, largely unpublished, such as diaries and memoirs, correspondence, artifacts, lists (deportations, survivors, displaced persons), etc. Materials cover the period from the late 1920s through to the late 1950s.

The Felix Posen Bibliographic Project (The Vidal Sassoon International Center for the Study of Antisemitism, Hebrew University of Jeruselum) Online databases containing about 50,000 items. New material is added on a regular basis.

Forgotten Camps
Information about the smaller, lesser known concentration camps

H-Holocaust Link (H-Net)H-Holocaust exists so scholars of the Holocaust / Shoah can communicate with each other 

Holocaust Timeline (The History Place)

Holocaust Denial on Trial: Using History to Confront Distortions

Internet Modern History Sourcebook: Holocaust (Fordham University)

Institute for the Study of Global Antisemitism and Policy
"A non-profit organization dedicated to the scholarly research of processes and manifestations associated with antisemitism globally, as well as other forms of racisms, and policy related issues, in the age of globalization."

JewishGen's Holocaust Database
" ...is a collection of databases containing information about Holocaust victims and survivors.  It contains more than two million entries, from more than 150 component datasets..."

Remember.org: A People's History of the Holocaust and Genocide
Shares art, discussion, photos, poems, and facts to preserve memories of the Holocaust

Yad Vashem: The Holocaust Martyrs' and Heroes' Remembrance Authority
Yad Vashem, Jerusalem, is the Jewish people’s memorial to the murdered Six Million and symbolizes the ongoing confrontation with the rupture engendered by the Holocaust. Containing the world’s largest repository of information on the Holocaust, Yad Vashem is a leader in Shoah (Holocaust) education, commemoration, research and documentation.

Genocide Studies

Gencide Studies Program Yale University
"conducts research, seminars and conferences on comparative, interdisciplinary, and policy issues relating to the phenomenon of genocide, and has provided training to researchers from afflicted regions, including Cambodia, Rwanda, and East Timor. The GSP also maintains research projects on those catastrophes, on the Nazi Holocaust, the genocides in Bosnia and Darfur, and on colonial and indigenous genocides."

Armenian National Institute
Dedicated to the Study, Research, and Affirmation of the Armenian Genocide

Armenian Research Center (University of Michigan--Dearborn)
Links to fact sheets, bibliographies, and documentary material

Cambodian Genocide Program (Yale)

Cambodian Tribunal Monitor
Access to the Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia dealing with the Khmer Rouge. Includes Voices of Genocide: Justice and the Khmer Rouge Famine Community Radio Program

Center for the Study of Genocide, Conflict Resolution, and Human Rights (CGCHR--Rutgers University)
"CGCHR seeks to enhance our understanding of genocide, political violence, and protracted conflict and related mechanisms for their prevention and resolution."

Genocide Archive Rwanda
Information relating to the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi, with videos, photos, maps, and transcripts.  Includes testimonies of Genocide survivors and perpetrators, Gacaca Justice System court proceedings, and remembrance ceremonies.

Genocide Intervention
Genocide Intervention Network is mobilizing the first permanent anti-genocide constituency committed to stopping the worst atrocities around the world.

International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda
Established for the prosecution of persons responsible for genocide and other serious violations of international humanitarian law committed in the territory of Rwanda between 1 January 1994 and 31 December 1994.

Northwest Center for Holocaust, Genocide and Ethnocide Education (Western Washington University)

The Genocide Education Project
A nonprofit organization that assists educators in teaching about human rights and genocide, particularly the Armenian Genocide, by developing and distributing instructional materials, providing access to teaching resources and organizing educational workshops.

Save Darfur
Advocacy organization of activists, faith leaders, students, artists, & genocide survivors of Darfur and the Sudan.

Darfur Genocide (World without Genocide)

Nanking Atrocities