Skip to main content

WGS 325 - Youth: Gender Perspectives

Doing archival research on the Los Guilucos School for Girls riots of 1953.

Letter from LeBaron Files

letter excerpt

Excerpt from a letter to Gaye LeBaron from a participant. Correspondence, 13 March 1986, from Carole. Gaye LeBaron Digital Collection, Sonoma State University Library.

SSU's Gaye LeBaron Digital Archive

Gaye LeBaron has been a local journalist and historian for over 50 years.

The Gaye LeBaron Collection includes files, letters, research materials, photos and other items she collected over the years while writing over 8,200 columns in the Press Democrat and several books on Santa Rosa history.

  • Included in this collection is a file of materials on Los Guilucos School for Girls, including the letter excerpted on the left, along with other materials noted in this guide, including a copy of History of Los Guilucos, Sonoma County, Calif. Collection of documents and clippings on the history of Los Guilucos and the Hood Mansion near Glen Ellen, Calif.
  • Make an appointment with SSU Special Collections to view this file.

The Gaye LeBaron Digital Collection includes newspaper columns (along with selections of other items) that have been digitized by the SSU Special Collections department.

  • Additional undigitized columns can be found in the Press Democrat microfilm for:
    • February 13, 1986
    • March 12, 1986

Other Related Information

SSU's Special Collections include many other print and digital collections.

See also the Archival Research guide.