By providing materials researchers with the information they need to design better, the Materials Project aims to accelerate innovation in materials research. Development of the Materials Project is supported by the U.S. Department of Energy, Batteries for Advanced Transportation Technologies (BATT) and a Laboratory Directed Research and Development grant from LBNL. Disseminated science supported by DOE, NSF, Gillette, Umicore, Bosch and BATT. Professors from MIT and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, among other institutions, are also affiliated.
Database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.
Provides users with easy access to chemical and physical property data for chemical species through the internet. The data provided in the site are from collections maintained by the NIST Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors. Data in the WebBook system are organized by chemical species. The WebBook system allows users to search for chemical species by various means. Once the desired species has been identified, the system will display data for the species.
This will direct you to the search results in the library catalog for "handbooks and engineering" -- MODIFY this search to locate handbooks relevant to your specific area of study, for instance, add the term "electronics" or "networks".
The PSL: 1) develops and maintains primary standards traceable to national standards and calibrates and certifies customer reference standards; 2) provides technical guidance, support, and consultation; develops precision measurement techniques; provides oversight, including technical surveys and measurement audits; and anticipates future measurement needs of the nuclear weapons complex and other Department of Energy programs; and 3) helps industry, universities, and government agencies establish or verify new capabilities and products and improve measurement technology.
Sponsored by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (U.S. Dept of Commerce), the NIST GSI is a gateway to a wealth of standards and conformity assessment information to help you compete successfully in the global marketplace. Find the latest global standards news, events, resources, key contacts and more.
The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) provides you with easy access to ISO standards, graphical symbols, codes or terms and definitions. This new platform allows you to: 1) Preview the publically available sections of over 1000 ISO standards*, including the foreword, table of contents, introduction, scope and bibliographical references; 2) Access the most up to date content; 3) Run full-text searches; and 4) Use advanced filtering options.
NOTE: Not all content will be readily available.