Research Guides: High School Research Guide: Databases at SSU

Library databases

The Sonoma State University Library subscribes to over 35,000 academic journals, magazines, and newspapers, most of which are available online through our databases. Visitors to the library who are not SSU students, faculty or staff can access the databases through any of our Quick Search stations in the library.

Below are some of the databases that you may find helpful for completing your assignments.

*Remember that you must be on campus, in the library to access these databases.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database providing full-text access to peer-reviewed and general interest publications in nearly every area of academic study. Great starting point for most topics.
Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new window
Full text of newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses, including the arts, media and popular culture, business and labor studies, education, environmental studies and ecology, global studies, history, political science, government and public policy.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Browse overviews of current high-interest topics that effect everyday life in the US and abroad. Includes pro and con statements, timelines of key events, questions for further research, briefs of hot topic issues, and more.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Provides information on over 170 countries. This resource contains data on the local economy, money, customs, climate, business etiquette, and internal travel information. It also provides maps, images, and practical information about telecommunications, Internet connectivity, security and health concerns.
MAS Ultra School Ed (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for high school libraries and students with a 7-12th grade reading level, includes 500 popular magazines, 88,000 biographies and 60,000 primary source documents, as well as pamphlets, reference books, and an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.