Skip to main content

University Library

Native American Studies

The guide for researching Native American topics.

Regional & Special Collection

Sonoma State University Library - Collections

Come see some amazing historical materials upstairs on the 3rd floor of the library!

The North Bay Digital Collection provides "online access to historical images and documents related to the region north of San Francisco supports student learning, scholarship, and community interests."

The Special Collections "are distinguished by rarity, value, aesthetics, and format. Included are manuscripts, photographs, books, periodicals, media, and ephemera. Access is by appointment and special handling procedures apply."

 

California Indian Museum and Cultural Center

California Indian Museum and Cultural Center

CIMCC Logo

 

The California Indian Museum and Cultural Center aims "to educate the public about California Indian history and cultures, to showcase California Indian cultures, to enhance and facilitate these cultures and traditions through educational and cultural activities, to preserve and protect California Indian cultural and intellectual properties, and to develop relationships with other indigenous groups."

Jesse Peter Multicultural Museum

Jesse Peter Multicultural Museum at Santa Rosa Junior College

Holdings include the renowned Elsie Allen Pomo Basketry Collection; Southwest pottery from world famous artists such as Nampeyo, Maria Martinez, and Lucy Lewis; diverse African sculptures and masks; original serigraphs from the Northwest Coast, and diverse and original artwork from across the globe.

Marin Museum of the American Indian


Marin Museum of the American Indian

Marin Museum of the American Indian logoThe museum aims to provide "the people of Northern California with programs and exhibits that deepen understanding and appreciation of Native American cultures. The Museum promotes accuracy, sensitivity and respect for the heritage and history of our continent's earliest inhabitants."

Grace Hudson Museum

Grace Hudson Museum

Museum Symbol

 

"The Hudson-Carpenter family's contributions to the understanding and development of the artistic, historical and cultural heritage of California's North Coast during the late 19th and early 20th century guide and inform the Museum's activities." The galleries display Grace Hudson's art, her family, and Pomo basketry. 

National Museum of the American Indian

National Museum of the American Indian

Part of the Smithsonian Institution, the National Museum of the American Indian "cares for one of the world's most expansive collections of Native artifacts, including objects, photographs, archives, and media covering the entire Western Hemisphere, from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego."